Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I make lots of this every August when my backyard plum tree is heavy with fruit. A generous slice with coffee is my perfect early-autumn breakfast. I don't usually have lemon zest around so I leave that (and the salt) out, and use only 4 tbl sugar total, and often substitute wholewheat or buckwheat or soy for half the flour, and it's always wonderful. Looking forward to trying it with herb-infused milk this year. Maybe rosemary. Thanks, Marion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is absolutely delicious served chilled with ice cream or english custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is so good and easy to make. Served to company with a scoop of vanilla ice cream which helps balance the tartness of the plums.I mixed the batter up earlier in the day and refrigerated it. Just cut and pit the plums before you sit down to dinner and pour the batter over and pop in the oven. Dessert is warm from the oven. This is a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made this for company and it was very easy and good. I did reduce the lemon peel as suggested. I liked that it wasn't too sweet and had a texture similar to creme caramel, which is a favourite. What made it really good was topping it with a plum sauce my husband made with our remaining fruit. He cooked pitted plums down with a bit of water and then sweetened it to taste. Served warm, it was divine. I actually made it again the next day, to see if it was that good, and it was. I am going to try this recipe using apples, brown sugar and a caramel sauce. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I used plums I froze last fall(thawed first)and they worked just fine. I didn't have a lemon, so I added a tsp. of ground ginger. It does puff up a lot while baking, then sinks a bit while cooling, so a deep-dish pie pan is recommended. Easy and impressive-looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Made this for my family to use up some fresh plums and everyone LOVED it. I followed the recipe to the letter, incl. baking time and it was a perfect dessert--neither too sweet nor too tart. A perfect balance of flavor and texture and served warm with a dollop of whipped cream---HEAVEN. Will try with other fruits also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I put powdered sugar and whipped cream on this and it was just delicious! Very simple and fast to make. A lot like a baked custard. Mine cooked a little faster than time called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Absolutely fantastic! Used half vanilla extract and half almond extract, and only used 6 plums, but otherwise made exactly as specified. Served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Incredible! Tastes exactly like traditional French clafoutis but it's low fat! A definite keeper, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was so fantastic!! It was very gourmet but extremely easy to make. Great warm or cold. Definitely a favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States