Plum Chipotle Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I too used chipotle in adobo sauce and had some jalapeno's canned in vinegar, so just used the vinegar from the jar in place of the jalapeno and vinegar (already hot)! I originally misread the directions and left this on this stove for about 1/2 a day or so and it ended up really thick. Excellent for BBQ sauce. We BBQ'd prawns and my son-in-law from Hawaii dipped his prawns and then ate the rest with his fingers! He couldn't get enough. My plums are starting to get ripe again this year and I already have requests for jars of this sauce! It is great! I too did not make enough because I definitely did not end up with any left over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wow, I was skeptical with the interesting ingredient list, but this is AMAZING! The only thing I did differently was I juiced the plums via boiling in a small amount of water. I find it to be a more effective method to extract the juice. It also left me with lots of extra juice for jelly - or maybe to make another batch of sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great recipe! I used TVP, an extra can of diced tomatoes and a little extra water with vegetable broth concentrate. It was nice and thick and very good. Even the meat eater in the house liked it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is amazing! We have a plum tree and this made a fabulous treat. We served it spooned over pork chops. My stepson is in culinary school and shared a jar of it with his instructor, who raved about our efforts! Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sspersonalstyist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was amazing. A different version of an HP Sauce. I stewed the plums for 5-10 minutes and them put them through my juicing sieve squeezing out the juice and pulp and leaving the skin and seeds behind. No need to use the liquid smoke, the chipotle pepper is enough. Before placing the sauce in jars I used 1/4 cup of water and 1 tablespoon of cornstarch. Mix this well to disolve the cornstarch then add to the heated sauce to thicken. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Oh wow!!! This recipe is fantastic!! I had boxes of plums given to me and enough jam and syrup already.....I was looking for something different and easy to do with all my plum sauce and this was it!! I used chipolte in adobo sauce and a little less sugar and it turned out so perfect I immediately made a second batch...THANKYOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Dislike. I love Chipotle seasoning too. I used very ripe plums and pureed chipotles in adobo sauce. not sure what happened. Thank goodness I used scaled down amounts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
So delicious! I sort of winged it with the ingredients because my household likes both spice and garlic, so I went a little crazier with the chipotle. Like another reviewer, I didn't have any chipotle seasoning, so I used chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, and that gave it a HUGE kick. My only complaint is that there isn't more, because I was planning on giving some away, but now I want to keep it all to myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Absolutely fantastic sauce! We bbq'd chicken breasts and used the sauce to baste the chicken. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States