Plum Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was looking for a new way to use our plums when I came across this recipe. This is the best plum desert I've had in a long time and everyone I fed it to thought it was fantastic. I did have to make one change thou, I had to bake it an additional 10 minutes as the center wasn't done. I will diffinently use this one again next year when my plums are ready. Thanks for sharing Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this tonight for my DH and SIL, (sorry I don't care for desserts). They both gave this a solid 5 stars and said that it was really delicious. DH really wanted a second piece but he was already too full. I made this recipe exactly as posted. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I will keep it in regular rotation, as it was fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was really good! I especially liked the batter for the topping, such a great sweet contrast to the tart plum, next time I will definitely remember to buy some vanilla ice cream to go with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I loved this recipe! The cake is super fluffy and goes well with the tart plums. I used Santa Rosa plums with the skin the very first time. It came out extremely sour. The next time, I put the plums through a food mill to get rid of the skins, and it came out perfect! I've heard that Italian prune plums are good for baking, but I haven't seen any to purchase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent plain or with vanilla ice cream! I'd recommend adding the milk one cup at a time so it doesn't splash everywhere when you mix it in. I'd also suggest not softening the butter in the topping and just cutting it into the mixed dry ingredients instead. If it's soft, then the topping is very gooey and not crumbly at all. Tastes fine either way, but it's just hard to glop the topping on the top of the batter if it's gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have never taken the time to rate a recipe, but this one is so good I had to. I will definately be making it again (and would probably be good with many other kinds of fruit as well). The cake is nice and fluffy with a good flavor. The only change I made was a substituted part of the white sugar in the topping with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this with some overripe nectarines and plums from our tree. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was very good! I made with plums off our tree and received many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Mine came out very dry. However it smelt wonderful. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
this is an awesome recipe not to dry or anything undesirable as far as cakes go I personally love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States