Plum Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great way to use up tart plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
To the person who couldn't find baking soda anywhere in the recipe, baking powder is nothing but baking soda with cream of tartar mixed in. That is probably why they tasted baking soda. The recipe is excellent as posted! Try making sure baking powder does not have lumps in it. Sometimes lumps do not get distributed all the way and gather in one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
It was good. I changed a few things - I put 1/2 cup of honey directly over the plums and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup in the batter. I think the cake would have been just fine without the topping. Next time, I won't make the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I had an excess of plums from our backyard and wanted to make something tasty with them. I found this recipe, made it just as instructed, and my family is devouring it! This is a great recipe and I will deifnitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
it's ok, not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I was given plums and wasn't sure what to do with them since I'm not a huge fan of them. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try and am glad I did. I had 6 plums that came out to be around 6 cups after dicing. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It had sort of an apple taste to it. Served it warm with vanilla icecream. Would def make again. I left the skin on the plums as I wasn't sure if I should peel them or not and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Nice dessert thats different from our usual crisps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I baked mine in a glass dish and it looked so pretty too. Didn't change a thing. Didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I halved the recipe and used a 9 inch cake pan- worked great! I only had 1/4 cup milk so i used 3/4 cup water and was a bit worried but it turned out great! I also added 1/2 cup oats to the topping-- it seemed very creamy so i added the oats to make it more "sprinkly". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is delicious! I would have given it 5 stars, but I had to nearly double the cooking time. It is worth the extra time it takes to bake. When my husband tried it, his eyes got big and said, "Do you have any extra plums?!" So I'll be making another one today and will freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States