Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Oh so delicious. I definitely recommend very ripe plums instead of the babyfood. i used about 1 1/4 cups plum puree. this recipe is also delicious for muffins. mmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I changed it a little. I put one and 1/2 cups of plum preserve I made with red plums, and instead of walnuts I chopped up the red plums and mixed them inside the batter. (I also nixed the red food coloring). After pouring the batter I spooned several t spoons of the plum preserve on top and swirled in a design. I nixed the sugar topping because it was sweet with the preserve and a bit tart as well. I scooped vanilla ice cream on top and it was done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
this was great! i added tea (instead of cloves and nutmeg) to both the frosting/sauce and the batter, which i thought was delicious. it's best in small doses, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I made muffins and mini muffins. Instead of making the lemon juice and powdered sugar, I used cream cheese frosting. They were gobbled up. I couldn't eat nuts, but next time I'll put them in everyone elses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsqueaky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This bread is so versatile. When I did not have plums I've used over-ripe mashed bananas with or without softened chopped dates, or I've used regular applesauce and added a packet of unsweetened strawberry Kool-Aid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I did 2/3 of the recipe and it was just enough batter for a regular 1.5qt bread pan. I also just blended up frozen prune plums instead of the baby food, and it didn't mess up the consistency by making it too watery. The flavor is really nice, I liked the combination with the lemon icing. It also has just the right amount of spices. Definitely a recipe I will refer back to when I feel the need to use up more of my prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Kid approved... I made these into muffins, and my kids thought they were great. I did make a few changes. I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup, and used 1 and 1/2 cups of pureed plums. I also added a cup of oatmeal. We have a lot of plum trees in our yard, so I keep frozen puree in our freezer to make this delicious recipe all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
One of the BEST!! I have made this countless times using my own canned plum butter and top it off with the Caramel Frosting VI recipe (it's more like a caramel glaze) while the cake is still hot and let it sit in the pan until it's cool (if we can wait that long!). My mother-in-law RAVES over this combo so I make it for her birthday every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this last night and brought it to work this morning. It is almost gone at 8AM and the office reviews were "outstanding" I could not find the baby food plum after going to 4 different stores, but I did find baby food "pears and blueberries" together in a 6oz jar which is now my secret ingredient...........I suppose you could use any fruit or combination, but I will keep searching for the plum! The topping adds a nice zing to it......... Charbosrunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States