Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I pureed 4 peeled over-ripe plums in the blender instead of using baby food. Added 3 Tablespoons flour and a pinch more baking soda. I didn't use food coloring. I baked them as 2 9x9 square cakes and it tastes just like applesauce spice cake. Very good. Makes an great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
this is so yum! can't buy plum baby food in oz so i pureed a tin of whole plums without the juice and it makes a little more then is needed so worked out great! just need to add 2 tablespoons more flour and a pinch more baking soda. will definately use for xmas pressies~ !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Good recipe. I try to use fresh ingredients when possible, so I didn't bother with the baby food. It's easy to puree fresh plums and add a wee bit of flour. Not much. Cornstarch would also work, or tapioca. About 1 Tablespoon or so. Also, red food coloring is never advised. Just leave that unnecessary ingredient out. Makes nice little gifts or a great bread to have Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
A heavenly holiday recipe! Looks, smells, and tastes beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I can't stop eating this! I highly recommend trying this bread/cake. (It's a cake) I used fresh plums..just put them in the blender. Used 1 1/2 cups of pureed plum and reduced oil to 1/2 cup. For the nuts, I used pecans. Really good! Even my four year old likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
this is great as is and as a great base recipe. i have changed the baby food and they all taste great. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Really moist and great flavor! I doubled the recipe with no problem. Used macadamias and almonds. All the friends who received as gifts were very pleased!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
excellent bread/cake ... I had to buy plum and apples baby food instead of plain plum, and it turned out so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good! I followed the cake recipe exactly. I left off the glaze. We thought the cake was good as is. I want to try it again with subbing applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is so delicious. Sometimes just for a quick after dinner dessert, I will hold off adding any of the spices. It makes for a great sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States