Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I really didn't like this recipe. I followed recipe exactly, except that i substituted real plums for plum baby food, and i omitted the nuts. This recipe didn't have much flavor, and where it did, the flavors didn't work. It's too bad. I was really looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I can't stop eating this! I highly recommend trying this bread/cake. (It's a cake) I used fresh plums..just put them in the blender. Used 1 1/2 cups of pureed plum and reduced oil to 1/2 cup. For the nuts, I used pecans. Really good! Even my four year old likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I am sitting here trying to restrain myself from eating it all :(. While this recipe was tasty, I have to agree that you can't actually taste the plums. I made a couple of changes to this recipe out of necessity. I used sunflower oil instead of vegetable and I used 8 oz of fresh peeled black plums instead of baby food. I squashed them up in my hands and removed pits (no need for making the food processor dirty). I also used 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup raisins by choice. It turned out really well. I almost forgot the icing but I'm glad I didn't :). I used a two-piece angel food tube pan for the recipe because I don't own a bundt pan. It worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
So good! I made this twice - once I peeled and pureed 12 plums for a double recipe, the second time I simply squashed 12 plums in my hand and took the pits out. Both times it was delicious, and it's less work not peeling them. I also was worried that 1 tsp. of cloves would be too much, but it was perfect, and I don't usually like cloves. We had an abundance of plums, and I've made several desserts with them, but this was everyone's favorite. I've been asked for the recipe over and over again. I think I will give loaves of this out as Christmas gifts. The glaze really makes it, don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My whole family really liked this, but I was disappointed b/c I couldn't taste the plum - and I pureed 8 plums! I used extra plums in place of most of the oil and just used 3 Tb of butter. So, even with extra plums, there was no plum flavor I could detect. It was a great, moist, spice cake - but not plum-y. I gave it a high rating though, b/c everyone loved it not knowing what it was - the cake was gone by the end of an evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Good recipe. I try to use fresh ingredients when possible, so I didn't bother with the baby food. It's easy to puree fresh plums and add a wee bit of flour. Not much. Cornstarch would also work, or tapioca. About 1 Tablespoon or so. Also, red food coloring is never advised. Just leave that unnecessary ingredient out. Makes nice little gifts or a great bread to have Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is definately a keeper!!! I made this for a Labor Day get together and all of it went. I didn't have baby food in the house so I just threw 2 plums into my blender and used those instead. Cake is VERY moist, has great flavor and the icing is the perfect touch of tang. I've got 2 more plums sitting on my counter and I'm making this cake again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I made this for a holiday party and everyone loved it! The brushed on lemon glaze added a nice tangy crust I'd be tempted to use on other cakes as well. I decided to leave out the red food coloring, and I couldn't find plum baby food, so I used baby prunes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MireBast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is a very tasty fresh fruity cake. I used fresh pureed plums and I mixed all the wet ingredients in the blender. I forgot to add the ground cloves so instead put a bit of ginger in. I loved the outcome and it baked very nicely. Super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I was a little hesitant at first with the baby food. But it was delicious! No plum baby food so I replaced it with Apples with Plums. When I got home I realized I bought half Apples with Plums and half Apples with Blueberries so I mixed them all. Turned out great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States