Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I pureed 4 peeled over-ripe plums in the blender instead of using baby food. Added 3 Tablespoons flour and a pinch more baking soda. I didn't use food coloring. I baked them as 2 9x9 square cakes and it tastes just like applesauce spice cake. Very good. Makes an great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
this is so yum! can't buy plum baby food in oz so i pureed a tin of whole plums without the juice and it makes a little more then is needed so worked out great! just need to add 2 tablespoons more flour and a pinch more baking soda. will definately use for xmas pressies~ !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Good recipe. I try to use fresh ingredients when possible, so I didn't bother with the baby food. It's easy to puree fresh plums and add a wee bit of flour. Not much. Cornstarch would also work, or tapioca. About 1 Tablespoon or so. Also, red food coloring is never advised. Just leave that unnecessary ingredient out. Makes nice little gifts or a great bread to have Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
A heavenly holiday recipe! Looks, smells, and tastes beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I can't stop eating this! I highly recommend trying this bread/cake. (It's a cake) I used fresh plums..just put them in the blender. Used 1 1/2 cups of pureed plum and reduced oil to 1/2 cup. For the nuts, I used pecans. Really good! Even my four year old likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
this is great as is and as a great base recipe. i have changed the baby food and they all taste great. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Really moist and great flavor! I doubled the recipe with no problem. Used macadamias and almonds. All the friends who received as gifts were very pleased!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
excellent bread/cake ... I had to buy plum and apples baby food instead of plain plum, and it turned out so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good! I followed the cake recipe exactly. I left off the glaze. We thought the cake was good as is. I want to try it again with subbing applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is so delicious. Sometimes just for a quick after dinner dessert, I will hold off adding any of the spices. It makes for a great sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States