Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We didn't put any chicken (or cornstarch) in because we only had bone-in chicken and we wanted something fast. We added more ginger (mixed into the sauce, not cooked with the veggies), cooked the garlic with the vegetables, decreased the corn syrup to 1/3 cup, and added water chestnuts for crunch. A nice stir-fry sauce, excellent over jasmine rice. This dish was fabulous meatless, but we will definitely try it with chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe! I have made many different stir fry sauces and this one is fabulous and easy to prepare! I made it with pork, and put ginger in with the rice. My husband says its one of his favorites! Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great flavor! Unusual dish, my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is a great concept to combine the flavor of ginger with the body of the plum sauce in a simple dish. I made this with zuchini and lots of onions; the result was a dish I will put on my regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a regular meal in our house. I spice it up a little bit by adding a few shakes of red pepper flakes and I use a spicy plum sauce. I just use whatever veggies I have on hand. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
AWESOME !! My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was to add carrots. This will be a regular dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
delicious! I was looking for a recipe to use up the 1/2 jar of plum sauce in the fridge and this was it. Halved the recipie and was enough for our family of 4, plus a lunch for my husband to take to work the next day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
We loved this. Great basic stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Easy and good! Only used 3 T cornstarch, no oil or corn syrup, subbed sugar snap peas for snow peas, and used 5 stalks celery and three small bell peppers instead of mushrooms as that's what I had on hand and needed to use up. There was plenty of sauce for all of it and it was plenty sweet without the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Added shredded carrots, shallots, and onions. Did not add corn syrup or bouillon. Definitely would have been too sweet with the corn syrup. Added some Sri Racha sauce to the plum sauce. Added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder to the flour I used (rather than corn starch) to the chicken coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States