Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
We loved this. Great basic stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My DH made this for dinner the other night and it was really good - but even better the next day. We cut the recipe in half, but used all the garlic, more fresh ginger than called for (probably 1 tsp or so) and only 1/4 cup of corn syrup (glad we did, or it would have been waaaay too sweet). The end result was tasty and healthy; we probably will turn to this recipe in future if we're looking for a chicken stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
delicious! I was looking for a recipe to use up the 1/2 jar of plum sauce in the fridge and this was it. Halved the recipie and was enough for our family of 4, plus a lunch for my husband to take to work the next day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Good. I found a similar recipe that calls for only 1/4 cup of corn syrup (or golden syrup) which seemed a *much* less scary quantity! It also uses water chestnuts instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
A very good taste. I would add some more veggies with this one. I also made coconut rice which was a wonderful addition to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I should have listened to the other reviewers who said it was too sweet! OMG. I could barely get it down. The first few bites were really good and then it went down from there. I added a touch more soy and siracha but that didn't help. I think the plum sauce is really sweet on its own. I've just never heard of using corn syrup in chinese, so I had to try it. I didn't even add the full half cup. Honestly, I don't see how 3/4 tsp of ginger could be too much as some said, but then again, people complain about a recipe being bland when it's got nothing but one ingredient by itself to add flavor?!?!!!! I added red bell, bean sprouts, onion and omitted mushrooms because I didn't have any...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We didn't put any chicken (or cornstarch) in because we only had bone-in chicken and we wanted something fast. We added more ginger (mixed into the sauce, not cooked with the veggies), cooked the garlic with the vegetables, decreased the corn syrup to 1/3 cup, and added water chestnuts for crunch. A nice stir-fry sauce, excellent over jasmine rice. This dish was fabulous meatless, but we will definitely try it with chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
AWESOME !! My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was to add carrots. This will be a regular dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
It was too gingery for me, and I cut the ginger a bit too. Not a bad meal, but we didn't love it. We prefer Oyster Sauce Chicken, which is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a regular meal in our house. I spice it up a little bit by adding a few shakes of red pepper flakes and I use a spicy plum sauce. I just use whatever veggies I have on hand. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States