Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
We loved this. Great basic stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My DH made this for dinner the other night and it was really good - but even better the next day. We cut the recipe in half, but used all the garlic, more fresh ginger than called for (probably 1 tsp or so) and only 1/4 cup of corn syrup (glad we did, or it would have been waaaay too sweet). The end result was tasty and healthy; we probably will turn to this recipe in future if we're looking for a chicken stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
delicious! I was looking for a recipe to use up the 1/2 jar of plum sauce in the fridge and this was it. Halved the recipie and was enough for our family of 4, plus a lunch for my husband to take to work the next day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Good. I found a similar recipe that calls for only 1/4 cup of corn syrup (or golden syrup) which seemed a *much* less scary quantity! It also uses water chestnuts instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
A very good taste. I would add some more veggies with this one. I also made coconut rice which was a wonderful addition to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I should have listened to the other reviewers who said it was too sweet! OMG. I could barely get it down. The first few bites were really good and then it went down from there. I added a touch more soy and siracha but that didn't help. I think the plum sauce is really sweet on its own. I've just never heard of using corn syrup in chinese, so I had to try it. I didn't even add the full half cup. Honestly, I don't see how 3/4 tsp of ginger could be too much as some said, but then again, people complain about a recipe being bland when it's got nothing but one ingredient by itself to add flavor?!?!!!! I added red bell, bean sprouts, onion and omitted mushrooms because I didn't have any...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We didn't put any chicken (or cornstarch) in because we only had bone-in chicken and we wanted something fast. We added more ginger (mixed into the sauce, not cooked with the veggies), cooked the garlic with the vegetables, decreased the corn syrup to 1/3 cup, and added water chestnuts for crunch. A nice stir-fry sauce, excellent over jasmine rice. This dish was fabulous meatless, but we will definitely try it with chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
AWESOME !! My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was to add carrots. This will be a regular dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
It was too gingery for me, and I cut the ginger a bit too. Not a bad meal, but we didn't love it. We prefer Oyster Sauce Chicken, which is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a regular meal in our house. I spice it up a little bit by adding a few shakes of red pepper flakes and I use a spicy plum sauce. I just use whatever veggies I have on hand. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States