Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Easy and good! Only used 3 T cornstarch, no oil or corn syrup, subbed sugar snap peas for snow peas, and used 5 stalks celery and three small bell peppers instead of mushrooms as that's what I had on hand and needed to use up. There was plenty of sauce for all of it and it was plenty sweet without the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
mmmmmm Yummy flavours. I admit I did add a bit more ginger then called for, omitted the syrup and added a few chili peppers. Turned out great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Added shredded carrots, shallots, and onions. Did not add corn syrup or bouillon. Definitely would have been too sweet with the corn syrup. Added some Sri Racha sauce to the plum sauce. Added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder to the flour I used (rather than corn starch) to the chicken coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I really enjoy Asian cooking and thought I would give this one a try. I bought all of the ingredients, which weren't inexpensive. I also consider myself a good cook. I did not care for this at all! It was sooo sweet. If you are looking for something that tastes like in the restaurant, skip this one. I would omit all of the corn syrup. I may try it again without the sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
It just tasted like sweet and sour chicken. I didn't taste the plum or the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love the flavor of this but made some adjustments: * NO corn syrup, * no chicken bouillon, * no corn starch. I made this plum sauce: Spicy-Plum-Sauce and sweetened it with about 1/4 teaspoon of stevia. It is PLENTY sweet without the corn syrup, and much healthier. My husband loves this on his HCG diet (minus the rice and oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. I did modify the recipe as using the corn syrup would definitely make it too sweet. I omitted the corn syrup and threw in (in addition to the mushrooms and snow peas) some chopped carrots and a red bell pepper. The flavor is nice but it doesn't blow my mind. I had a lot of sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This had great flavours. The ginger and and plum sauce really work well together. All I did different was I added carrots and water chestnuts. I think next time I will try using flour instead of corn starch on the chicken, it made it a bit thicker/sticky while cooking. I also added fresh garlic and green onions while cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Good. Didnt feel like I wanted to die afterwords.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The only changes I made were to use brown sugar instead of corn syrup, and I ended up having to add some water to thin out the sauce as it was too sticky and glutinous. I made this with a mushroom medley pack which included oyster, chestnut, crimini and white button mushrooms. It could do with a little kick of something spicy, but otherwise, this was decent. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States