Pleasant Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I have been making this recipe for awhile, and have just gotten around to reviewing it. Both my husband and I think it's fabulous!! I use four large boneless chops, 2 cloves of garlic, and half chicken broth/ half white wine for the 3/4 cup broth. I also usually substitute 2 tsp. cajun seasoning for the 2 tsp. paprika. The sauce can be a bit tricky! Make sure you definitely reduce the juices by half, when you remove the chops, or the sauce won't be thick enough. Also, once stirring in the sour cream, do not allow the mixture to boil, or it will separate, and ruin the sauce. Once done, I serve chops and sauce over hot, buttered noodles. Scrumptious!! Thanks for a great favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
We loved this dish! I didn't seperate the onions/garlic from the chops - just sauted and simmered w/ them the whole time. Also - I too added a splash of white wine and used 3 bay leaves and added some crushed, dried rosemary. These three additions alone added great flavor to the chops. Finally, I did need to add some cornstarch to the gravy so that it would thicken like we prefer - but no big deal. I was worried that my family would not be happy with a side dish of mashed potatoes two nights in a row BUT since I had this great gravy to pour over them: my family was very pleased. This is a great recipe Clyde - thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Definitely an easy and yummy recipe!! However, SOMETHING was missing (for me at least). Instead of the two tsps. of paprika recommended, I added ONE tsp. of SMOKED paprikia. Also, I used fat free sour cream although at the end of cooking the sauce, I added one heaping tspn. of cornstarch mixed with one tbsp. of water and added that mix to the sauce. We absolutely LOVED the flavor. Also, we DID simmer the porkchops for an hour because we like them fork tender. WOW!! Great recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Preparing for the reveiw, I followed the recipe exactly as written. While this was good, I expected more and the flavor of the paprkia through it off for me. Perhaps more garlic, and less paprika next time I give it a try would enhance this dish. However, this will be a "change of pace" recipe, but not one I will keep in my "go to" list of family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I have made this at least 50 times and it's a hit always, thanks - update - I have to add that IT IS IMPERATIVE that you reduce the juices in the pan to at least 1/2. Yummy as always - I've made it with chicken several times too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This is a great recipe. The sauce is perfect for both the meat and on noodles. I didn't change anything and thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
i usually read reviews before i make a recipe but i didn't this time. this recipe was exactly what i was looking for. it was great. i literally licked the plate. altered slightly, i used 5 garlic cloves and added fresh sliced mushrooms. i also added a splash of white wine with 1 cup of chicken broth. i simmered them for 1 hour. the chops were moist and the sauce was excellent. i seasoned the chops with reese steak salt and freshly ground black pepper. i'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is great! The sauce was a hit and the pork chops came out so tender. The only changes I made were to sauté some mushrooms with the onion, garlic, and I only sautéed the pork chops for 45 minutes rather than an hour. I also used a whole can of chicken broth. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Our family of 5 loved this recipe. I doubled the sauce ingredients and added more garlic and some fresh rosemary. I also combined a little white wine with chicken and vege stock for the liquid. As suggested if you let this sauce reduce it will dfinately be thick enough. And the pork was so succulent and tender after simmering for an hour. I served this with mashed potatoe and a fresh mixed salad. (Typical Aussie hey). Everyone loved this and I will definately make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
The sauce on these chops was awesome! I halved the recipe and used three thick boneless chops. The cooking time was also halved. I also used reduced fat sour cream! Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States