Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were good. I used fresh onion instead of dried onion & salt & pepper to taste. The meatballs didn't hold their shape very well, I would use more oats & maybe some milk. I halved the recipe & forgot to use less sauce, so they were a little too saucy. Overall, I liked them and will try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didnt care for these at all, I made them for game day a couple months ago and just threw most of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yummy yummy! Loved the tang to these meatballs. They definitely didn't keep their shape well though. Not sure what to do to remedy that (I'm new to meatballs). But will experiment and deffinitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were good, but obviously that would depend a lot on the sauce you choose. I used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal to bind after reading reviews and the meatballs seemed to hold up okay. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I absolutely loved these, as did my husband. I used 2 parts BBQ sauce and 1 part HP Steak Sauce, gave them that extra bit of tang. I also used cracker crumbs instead of oatmeal,they held together great!! Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My husband and I found these to be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
i made these about 2 weeks ago they are great and the kids loved them also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I really liked the texture of these meatballs - something I always struggle with. Because of the the reviews, I did a combo of cracker crumbs and oatmeal. I also didn't want to wash two pots, so I baked the meatballs for 20 minutes, drained them, then added the BBQ (mixed with chili sauce) and baked for another 25 minutes. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Awesome meatballs. I loved this recipe, and will be making it again. I used 80/20 ground beef, and I thought the texture was perfect. I put my BBQ sauce on only the last 15 minutes, since I used BBQ sauce with a lot of sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crab Orchard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Probably the best meatballs I've had! My daughter made them using ground turkey instead of ground beef. Wonderful...and healthier! She mixed Open Pit and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauces, which gave it a little bit more "zing!" It's going with us to the 4th of July get-together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States