Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The unexpected star of our NFL Playoffs "show." I'm convinced a good barbecue sauce and some finely chopped green pepper had everything to do with that. Make life easier and bake them at 400 degrees about 12 minutes instead of frying them, then finish the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Definitely great!! tip: we used Korean barbecue sauce and baked them in the oven after frying them. but delicious!! five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe! I did make some changes; I omitted the cheese, mixed in A1 and Worcestershire sauce in the ground beef, and replaced oatmeal with 4C seasoned breadcrumbs as well as fresh minced onions. It does, of course, depend a lot on the barbeque sauce you use, I alternated between Stubbs' Smoky Mesquite and Hickory Bourbon and it was delicious. I also tried Famous Dave's Sweet & Sassy, and that didn't work as well. But this is definitely a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
this is a great recipe. but my meatballs stuck to the pan. I did add onion soup mix instead of minced onion and used sweet baby rays bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kieffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
These were a huge hit with my family. I used Sweet Baby Ray's regular sauce. It was good. I might go for some Famous Dave's next time. Only modification was I used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal. (Shhh... don't tell my kids I left the onions in there!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Delish! Used chopped garlic, rather than onion. These were by far, the BEST meatballs I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
So good!! We make these at least once a month and theres never any left over. I use BBQ sauce in the meatballs instead of the ketchup, and kinda mix it up with some of the other ingredients depending on what I have on hand, or want to use up. 1/2 mozzarella for the cheese is amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Simple meat ball. I used 3.3lbs of ground beef, 3 eggs and the rest of the cheese I had probably 1.5 cups. I baked them I used a scoop then rolled them into balls so they were all the same size. I plan to freeze them so I did not use the sauce. I sampled one and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I prepared this recipe as stated in the directions. (I am not yet a "freelancer" in the kitchen.) My family really enjoyed them as a part of our gameday festivities. However, I found them a bit challenging to prepare. You have to be very vigilant when you place them in the oil in the skillet. They brown quickly. I turned them often, trying to brown each side. Unfortunately, as I was making more meatballs while some were in the skillet, those in the skillet would brown too quickly, and they got a little bit burned. I welcome any suggestions/help on this. But they were still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlcollier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made a half batch and cooked them in the oven for 20 minutes and then added the BBQ sauce and cooked them for an additional 20 minutes. They were very good...almost as good as the Cajun Appetizer Meatballs recipe that is also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States