Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I prepared this recipe as stated in the directions. (I am not yet a "freelancer" in the kitchen.) My family really enjoyed them as a part of our gameday festivities. However, I found them a bit challenging to prepare. You have to be very vigilant when you place them in the oil in the skillet. They brown quickly. I turned them often, trying to brown each side. Unfortunately, as I was making more meatballs while some were in the skillet, those in the skillet would brown too quickly, and they got a little bit burned. I welcome any suggestions/help on this. But they were still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlcollier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made a half batch and cooked them in the oven for 20 minutes and then added the BBQ sauce and cooked them for an additional 20 minutes. They were very good...almost as good as the Cajun Appetizer Meatballs recipe that is also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Not one left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Axtell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Elm Creek, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Came out very good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I used this recipe for the meatballs because they had oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and I didn't have bread crumbs or old bread on hand. No trouble with them holding together. I made them as directed except skipped the sauce, just put them by themselves in a glass baking dish for the baking portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This had a nice flavor and will vary depending on the sauce you use. These did not hold up well though and crumbled upon trying to serve them. I skipped the oven and used the stovetop and covered the dish and let it simmer on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These were soooo good! I really was surpised at how great these tasted, given this was my first time making meatballs. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce, 3/4 cup milk, and 3/4 cup crushed oyster crackers (I didn't have saltine crackers). I think I will bake them next time, to make them a little more healthy. Hopefully they will keep the round shape better with baking also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
wow!! finally a replacement for chicken wings!!!! simple to make, and as a kick at being lean! I used buffalo burger!! Very lean and the friends don't have to know! they'll just start leaning up!! thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was okay. Don't expect anything more than your average meatballs smothered in bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettybelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States