Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These were really great, just make sure to use really good bbq sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I have never made meatballs before but have always loved them. I followed the recipe except that I didn't have the onions so I used a seasoning that has onions, garlic and some other things. Mine stuck together great and tasted wonderful! I skipped the BBQ sauce and just put them in the oven plain because my daughter (3) doesn't like it, and she loved them! Ans they were really easy, I'm going to freeze some to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was delicious! My whole family (5 kids of all ages) LOVED it. I did have to make some changes. I didn't have any instant oatmeal so I used potato flakes instead. I also substituted cut up Kraft Cheese Bites (Three Cheese Blend - Mozzarella, Parmesan & White Cheddar) for the cheese since it's what I had on hand. After covering the meatballs in barbecue sauce I drizzled honey over the whole thing, about 1/2 cup. I then sprinkled about 1/2 cup of brown sugar over them. Finally, I splashed red vinegar over all of that for some tang. The sauce was thick, glazed and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
The only things that I did differently were to cut the ingredients in half because I only had a pound of ground meat. That was PLENTY of food for my family of 5!! I used ground turkey because we don't eat red meat and I made my own sauce because I didn't have any on hand. The family loved it :) (My sauce: 1 cup ketchup, 2 tbsp. Heinz 57, 1 tbsp. A1, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, 1 tsp. yellow mustard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Thought these were great! I read the reviews about the meatballs falling apart so I added another egg and they suck together just fine. These were so moist and yummy!! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Probably the best meatballs I've had! My daughter made them using ground turkey instead of ground beef. Wonderful...and healthier! She mixed Open Pit and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauces, which gave it a little bit more "zing!" It's going with us to the 4th of July get-together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Awesome meatballs. I loved this recipe, and will be making it again. I used 80/20 ground beef, and I thought the texture was perfect. I put my BBQ sauce on only the last 15 minutes, since I used BBQ sauce with a lot of sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crab Orchard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I really liked the texture of these meatballs - something I always struggle with. Because of the the reviews, I did a combo of cracker crumbs and oatmeal. I also didn't want to wash two pots, so I baked the meatballs for 20 minutes, drained them, then added the BBQ (mixed with chili sauce) and baked for another 25 minutes. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
i made these about 2 weeks ago they are great and the kids loved them also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My husband and I found these to be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States