Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
this is a great recipe. but my meatballs stuck to the pan. I did add onion soup mix instead of minced onion and used sweet baby rays bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
These were a huge hit with my family. I used Sweet Baby Ray's regular sauce. It was good. I might go for some Famous Dave's next time. Only modification was I used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal. (Shhh... don't tell my kids I left the onions in there!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Delish! Used chopped garlic, rather than onion. These were by far, the BEST meatballs I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
So good!! We make these at least once a month and theres never any left over. I use BBQ sauce in the meatballs instead of the ketchup, and kinda mix it up with some of the other ingredients depending on what I have on hand, or want to use up. 1/2 mozzarella for the cheese is amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Simple meat ball. I used 3.3lbs of ground beef, 3 eggs and the rest of the cheese I had probably 1.5 cups. I baked them I used a scoop then rolled them into balls so they were all the same size. I plan to freeze them so I did not use the sauce. I sampled one and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I prepared this recipe as stated in the directions. (I am not yet a "freelancer" in the kitchen.) My family really enjoyed them as a part of our gameday festivities. However, I found them a bit challenging to prepare. You have to be very vigilant when you place them in the oil in the skillet. They brown quickly. I turned them often, trying to brown each side. Unfortunately, as I was making more meatballs while some were in the skillet, those in the skillet would brown too quickly, and they got a little bit burned. I welcome any suggestions/help on this. But they were still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlcollier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made a half batch and cooked them in the oven for 20 minutes and then added the BBQ sauce and cooked them for an additional 20 minutes. They were very good...almost as good as the Cajun Appetizer Meatballs recipe that is also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Not one left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Axtell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Elm Creek, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Came out very good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I used this recipe for the meatballs because they had oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and I didn't have bread crumbs or old bread on hand. No trouble with them holding together. I made them as directed except skipped the sauce, just put them by themselves in a glass baking dish for the baking portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States