Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
THE GRANOLA bars tend to be dry I think the flour and oats needed to be reduced. They do taste good and my boys ate them. I added organic cranberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These are FAB-U-LOUS! After my first try with them, however, I edited them for health purposes, and they were genuinely just as yummy! I added a half a cup of flax seeds, I used wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, and I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil. I've also made them with and without the raisins. They are delicious either way, but my family LOVED them with the raisins (I did, too). Also, I only baked them for about 20 minutes, as to keep them chewy. Soooooo good once they cooled! But anyway, thanks to whomever submitted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made these tonight, I thought they were average, probably won't make again. With that said, I did use Olive oil versus vegetable oil as that's all we had/use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Love love love these! These have become a regular staple in my home and they always get eaten up! For the dried fruit I do a mixture of rasins, crasins, & dried blueberries. I use wheat flour, add crushed almonds, and sometimes flax seeds. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These are great, and really flexible to accommodate whatever ingredients you have on hand. I've made with spelt flour and used applesauce in place of the oil. Always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Just made them for the first time. Followed recipe but substituted wheat bran for wheat germ. I used olive oil and no raisins. They are a little too wet but stay together quite nicely. Next time I will add some nuts. A little more crunch would make them perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found it to be a little too sweet for my liking. Seemed more of a dessert/cookie bar than what I was hoping for. That being said it wasn't bad at all. My kids enjoyed it. I think I will take some other reviewers advice and add less sugar and do some whole wheat flour to make it less sweet and a little healthier. I will definitely be making this again. Way cheaper than buying granola bars at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is the type of recipe that allows for creativity. I have made cranberry walnut, chocolate chip, coco banana. It did take a couple of tries for me to get this recipe to suit our tastes. But it is a wonderful starter for those looking to provide healthy food for themselves or family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe today, along with some of the recommendations made by other viewers (less brown sugar, whole wheat flour, etc...) and added in some unsweetened coconut and cinnamon chips. Great base recipe that accommodates a myriad of alternatives. My son loves this and has already asked that we make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I just took these out of the oven after seeing them in the magazine. I made them for the kids 4H weekend so I'm hoping they find them as tasty as I do right now! I used craisins instead of raisins and I liked that choice. I didn't have wheat germ so I just used more flour and I only had a quarter cup of honey so I used dark corn syrup to supplement. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Berbrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States