Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Wonderful! I was craving crunchy granola bars and found this recipe. I found it a little sweet; next time I'll decrease the sugar to probably 2/3 or even 1/2 cup. I used 1/2 c raisins and 1/2 c chocolate chips, decreased the amount of wheat germ to 1/4 c and added 1/4 c of rice protein powder, to bump up the amount of protein. I'll definitely make them again. Do be sure to cut them before they get cold - they do make crunchy bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I submitted this recipe, but wanted to add a note. Yesterday we made them again and we tripled the recipe using 2 cups of wheat flour and only one cup (total) of oil and they turned out great. They were a little more crumbly than they would be if I'd added more oil, but they really turned out great! If you triple the recipe - use 2 cookie trays and then use after pressing it into the pan (which little kids can do to help!) you can use a rolling pin to flatten them out nicely. Hope you all like the recipe! Like I said - we can't keep them around! At least they are a somewhat healthy snack for little guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I found this recipe to be ok. I like crunchy granola bars and these were chewy like a bar cookie but none the less me my husband and my twin 18 mo. olds enjoyed them. Couldn't convince the thre year old though. The only change I made was to add craisins instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
These were really good. I added about 1/4 cup of butterscotch chips and 1/8 cup unsalted sunflower seed along with the raisens that are optional in the recipe. You can very easily exchange other ingredients you have on hand and they were very easy to whip up in a hurry. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
They were really great, except they were a little dry, i might try to add some milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My 3 year old and 1 year old loved these! We didn't have raisons, though, so we used the dried mix of pineapple, mango and papaya that you can buy in the raison section of the grocery store, and then added 3/4 C of shredded coconut. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
These are wonderful. Even my husband likes them. I double the recipe and we still eat them in less than a week. I also have substituted dried blueberries for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I did these a little differently, instead of wheat germ, we used unprocessed wheat bran, WW pastry flour and coconut oil. We've made these twice now and all 4 children love them. I have to take mine out at about 25 minutes though for chewy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
These are great! They satisfy my mid-afternoon urge for chocolate in a healthy filling way. The only changes I made: WW flour,reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 3/4 cup coarsely chopped toasted almonds along with the raisins (the raisins add sweetness). Next time I may add craisins or dried cranberries for a change, although these are perfect as they are! Thanks for a great healthy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is one of my family's favorite recipes. I make it at least once a week. They are easy, delicious, and nutritious. I have played with the ingredients, and they are always good. Our favorite version is doubling the recipe using a 1 lb. bag of "Bob's Red Mill 5 Grain Hot Cereal" for the rolled oats and adding 1/2-1 cup coconut. It is our favorite breakfast and take-along snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States