Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Awesome. Used whole wheat flour and only 1/3 C brown sugar. Subbed oat bran and ground flax seed for wheat germ. Added sunflower seeds, walnuts, almonds, dried cranberries, chocolate chips. Where have these been all my life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Perfect! I only made a few changes - (1) did not have wheat germ, used All-Bran cereal instead, (2) used Craisins instead of raisins, and (3) spread thin layer home-made blueberry spread on top prior to baking. They stayed chewy after cooling and are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These are not at all what I hoped. They are like a dry lifeless oatmeal cookie. I'll keep looking for something that is more like a real granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Tried these for the first time today--yum! I have a son who's allergic to wheat, so I substituted oat and quinoa flours for the all-purpose flour and flaxseed and amaranth for the wheat germ. The amaranth is still a little crunchier than I'd prefer, but the rest of my family liked it. The higher protein content of the quinoa & amaranth makes these very satisfying, filling bars. I also substitued some chopped prunes for some of the raisins, and that combo tastes good. The only thing I'm not crazy about with these is that the high oil content leaves your fingers a little greasy afterward. But that's not a deal-breaker yet.I'm going to try these next time with some chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These are awesome!! stay chewy forever and if you cook them for less time they are amazing. good with cranberries and white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Yummy! I swapped out the wheat germ for flax meal and added a few tablespoons of brewers yeast to make these into Lactation Granola Bars. Also added a teaspoon of baking soda so they puffed up a bit like a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These turned out very "cakey" and not like granola bars. They were dry and crumbly and I didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Awesome versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
We love these and love that they can be varied by the goodies you add in. We have made these every week for the past 3-4 weeks. They don't only taste great but keep you full for hours. We only bake for 18-20 min. Our variety includes alternating or combining the following dates or craisins, almonds or sunflower or pecans or walnuts, choc chips, sesame seeds, coconut flakes. Seriously sky is the limit. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe! My husband said these are the best granola bars he has EVER had! They are good without raisins or anything else in them, but they are also tasty with chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, nuts, etc. You can even substitute all or some of the oil with applesauce. I cook them for 25 minutes on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. When I do this, they come out the perfect consistency of chewy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States