Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is a great granola bar recipe. I only find it too sweet, so I reduced the brown sugar and honey by half and omitted the raisins. It does make thin bars, so since I like them thicker I either double the recipe or make it in a half size pan. The recipe is also a great base recipe to include add ins like coconut, nuts, and chocolate chips. I have not tried the chocolate chips yet, but I could have chocolate in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JerseyGirl Caitlin
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Yummy! I did as others before me tried and cut back the sugar. I had no wheat germ so I used wheat flour. I only made one batch so far with raisins, chocolate chips and sunflower nuts. Really good. Can hardly wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JerseyGirl Caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These are very good! I used coconut palm sugar for brown sugar and Spelt flour. Instead of raisins, I used semi sweet chocolate chips. I used a dough scraper to form a nice 1 inch margin around edge. Great evening snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I don't have any kids, but my husband and I love these! They're relatively easy and I've made them lots of different ways. The original recipe is great, but I've made a few tweaks. Most recently, I've substituted the eggs with vegetable oil so that I can safely cook them for less time and have a softer bar. I've also added a variety of different ingredients (at different times), including diced apples, white chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, etc. It's a great base, and adding your favorite treats into them makes them constantly different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Fantastic! Big hit at my house. Very easy to make. I followed the recipe and didn't make any adjustments and they turned out great. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela C
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My teenage daughter prefers these over store bought. I didn't use raisens and added mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made several changes to this recipe but only to make it a healthy, wholesome snack. Instead of using brown sugar I used succinate, white whole wheat flour in place of AP flour, and coconut oil instead of veggie oil. I also added craisins and a few chopped pecans. The combination exchanges are limitless. I love this granola bar and my grandkids (who are very picky) gobbled them up within minutes of me presenting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe has changed our lives. I've been making this weekly for about two months now and I have not bought a single box of granola bars since. They are so easy to make I can do so in the morning before work and the ability to play and customize it is the best part. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
My family loves these bars in all it's forms! Best hint I found was to add veg oil first then honey (so honey doesn't stick to measuring cup), you can use applesauce, choc & white chips, bananas, peanut butter, almonds ... Anything! It's the ratatouille of granola bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States