Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great recipe, I lowered the oil to 1/3 c and used olive oil instead of vegetable, lowered the sugar to 1/3 c and honey to 1/3 c, added 1/2 c of unsweetened applesauce and raised the cinnamon to 1tsp. I added an extra spoon of vanilla, 3/4 of raisins, and I used whole wheat flour instead of regular. Next time I probably wont use oil at all, except in the pan. From others' suggestions, I only cooked it for 18min, and they tuned out moist and delicious. I didn't have any wheat germ, so I took a protein cereal and ground it in a nut grinder and used that instead an it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great basic recipe that you can adjust to your families needs. I add coconut and dark chocolate chips. They stay soft for me and disappear quick! I double and spread out in a cookie sheet that has 1 inch sides. They come out thick but I just cut them smaller, doesn't matter, they are gone within days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a great find that always turns out delicious! The only problem with them is-in our house they're eaten while they're still cooling so they don't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is my favorite granola bar recipe. It is so versatile, you can add or omit whatever suits your taste of the day. I usually add 1/2 cup applesauce, replace the wheat germ with ground flax seed, add some (eyeball it) walnuts, almonds, unsweetened coconut flakes, and dark chocolate chips. I also replace the flour with gluten-free flour and add a 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum. They come out great and the whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I cooked it for 25 minutes with no convection on. it really seemed undercooked when I pulled it out of the oven. But it turned out perfect. I added chocolate chips, sunflower seeds and ground flaxseeds. I added half a cup of brown sugar and no wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Really really good! We did semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of raisins and they turned out very yummy. My 11 year old took a couple bites and said "we should start making these a lot!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These were great. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour and used dried apricots instead of raisins. I added 1/4 cup chopped pistachios. This is a great base recipe to customize to your tastes as many other reviewers have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing, my family loved them. They did taste more like cookie bars. I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1c craisins ,1c almonds, 1/2c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loves these! The only change I made was I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the oil. I also did not bake them as long as the directions said to, we like our granola bars chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States