Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Made these with combination of suggestions from other reviews, turned out very good, very chewy, very sweet. Will make again. Great base granola recipe, easy to make your own take on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Baumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very easy recipe to use and to substitute ingredients with. My 13 year old makes these all the time for school lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
These are super good! Just wanted to second several people that recommended cutting the sugar down to 1/2cup or even 1/3cup. The first time I made them I cut the sugar down and they were perfect! The second batch I forgot to do so and they're much too sweet for our preferences. They're almost like a desert instead of a snack with the extra sugar. We also like them chewy so we followed the instruction to not fill entire pan and to not cook them as long as recommended! Excellent results there as well. Either way they don't last very long in our house, we have to ration them out so they're not all gone the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
So I'm like you, I want a review done on the actual recipe not the changes. So I made the recipe, even went on a special trip to buy wheat germ, got home to make and realized I had NO HONEY! So round one: made to order for the recipe but substituted light agave for honey, WONDERFUL! Don't worry about storing, your kids will eat them to fast to concern yourself with making sure the zip-lock bag is closed or not. Second time around, still had not bought honey and now out of agave, so substituted 1/2 cup or a little less light corn syrup and a big heaping serving spoon of peanut butter. OMG, I don't honestly know if by the morning there will be any left for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Let me start out by saying this is not a bad recipe! But the name is a bit misleading.These are no granola bars! They are in between a cake and a cookie!Flavor wise they are pretty good! I always try and make a recipe for the first time as written I feel like this recipe deserves a second time around with some changes that suit my taste.I will enjoy these bars in the morning with my coffee :) Next time I try them I am certainly decreasing the sugar and oil! I might try and replace the oil with peanut butter or apple sauce to try and make them a bit more healthy and try only using one egg and double the recipe... Im going to play around with this recipe! Thank you for sharing! Its always fun trying different granola bar recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I LOVE this recipe! These bars stayed chewy for days in an airtight container. It was a little too sweet for my taste, so I cut back on sugar the second time. I also love that you can easily add nuts, chocolate chips, change up the dried fruit, etc. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I added oat bran and unsweetened coconut flakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I've made these many time and they are wonderful! Very sweet, though. You could easily reduce the sugar by half or more and not miss it because you'll still have the sweetness from the honey. Easier and faster to make than oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
My go to recipe!!! Kids love it and you can play with the ingredients! I use coconut oil, sometimes peanut butter, add chia seed and flax, coconut flakes, cranberries, etc (not all at once, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was yummy. family enjoyed it. followed Receipe except reduced sugar to 1/4. cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States