Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've been making these for awhile. My husband likes to take granola bars to work as a snack. I've been trying to avoid processed food so I make them now instead of buying them. I've reduced the amount of sugar in them, I add a cup of the individual applesauce to make them moister and my husband like craisins and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I've made these several times and love them! The recipe calls for wheat germ which I never have, so I substitute sesame seeds, flax seeds, and a little extra oats. I also sub out some of the regular flour for whole wheat flour. I use craisins instead of raisins, and of course, add chocolate chips as everything goes over better in my house with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Love, Love, Love these! I ran the kitchen at a backpacking school in Scotland and these were a staple on every hike. I love how I can change up the fruit with coconut, chocolate, and so many other combinations. I have passed this recipe on to many other moms..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!! The kids and I all LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!! Even my picky children can't get enough of the bars! I added half a cup of natural peanut butter, crushed peanuts, walnuts, cashew pieces, shredded coconut, craisins, ground flax seed, sunflower seeds and raisins. You can add anything you want! I went off chocolate over a year ago so I did not add any chocolate. I also added a lot more cinnamon and vanilla than the original recipe called for. Next time I am going to substitute some of the oil with apple sauce and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Lynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Good recipe! The granola bars were golden brown in only 20 minutes, so be careful not to over-bake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I made these for my boyfriend while he's studying for the bar and he loved them! I tried making him another granola recipe afterwards by Barefoot Contessa but I think he just wants more of these...haha They're super easy to make and come out clean and easy to box up and send to someone! I individually saran wrap them with the cling wrap so they're easy to just grab and go and then put them in plastic bags to help keep them fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Taste great and a quick on the go sanck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Yep, we loved this recipe and it's now a family staple. I always decrease the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and I've tried several variations--substituting golden syrup (an Aussie thing) for honey, chopped peanuts & coconut or chocolate chips & coconut for the raisins. Whatever I can find at the time. They're always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it several times in the past few weeks. I must say exactly what another reviewer said... Only bake them 18 minutes. They come out perfect every time and stay soft and chewy! I've made them with chopped up dried dates and the plumaisins (dried plum pieces). I plan on making a lot of varieties of this recipe in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Naylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States