Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This recipe worked pretty well. I didn't have wheat germ so I substituted flax seed meal instead.... worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.treehousealmonds.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
First time trying these granola bars, and they were amazing!!! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil because I am trying to find new ways of incorporating this healthy alternative. I added mini-chocolate chips and butterscotch chips! Delicious! I will never buy them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
These are so good and the kids love them. I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very customizable base recipe. I substitute whole wheat flour, decrease the sugar, and change up the mix ins. Coconut almond is our family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Made these with combination of suggestions from other reviews, turned out very good, very chewy, very sweet. Will make again. Great base granola recipe, easy to make your own take on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Baumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very easy recipe to use and to substitute ingredients with. My 13 year old makes these all the time for school lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
These are super good! Just wanted to second several people that recommended cutting the sugar down to 1/2cup or even 1/3cup. The first time I made them I cut the sugar down and they were perfect! The second batch I forgot to do so and they're much too sweet for our preferences. They're almost like a desert instead of a snack with the extra sugar. We also like them chewy so we followed the instruction to not fill entire pan and to not cook them as long as recommended! Excellent results there as well. Either way they don't last very long in our house, we have to ration them out so they're not all gone the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
So I'm like you, I want a review done on the actual recipe not the changes. So I made the recipe, even went on a special trip to buy wheat germ, got home to make and realized I had NO HONEY! So round one: made to order for the recipe but substituted light agave for honey, WONDERFUL! Don't worry about storing, your kids will eat them to fast to concern yourself with making sure the zip-lock bag is closed or not. Second time around, still had not bought honey and now out of agave, so substituted 1/2 cup or a little less light corn syrup and a big heaping serving spoon of peanut butter. OMG, I don't honestly know if by the morning there will be any left for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Let me start out by saying this is not a bad recipe! But the name is a bit misleading.These are no granola bars! They are in between a cake and a cookie!Flavor wise they are pretty good! I always try and make a recipe for the first time as written I feel like this recipe deserves a second time around with some changes that suit my taste.I will enjoy these bars in the morning with my coffee :) Next time I try them I am certainly decreasing the sugar and oil! I might try and replace the oil with peanut butter or apple sauce to try and make them a bit more healthy and try only using one egg and double the recipe... Im going to play around with this recipe! Thank you for sharing! Its always fun trying different granola bar recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States