Plato's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is a good recipe except for the MSG. I know too many people including myself that this would set off an allergic reaction. I would increase the kosher salt a little and eliminate the need for the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I REALLY liked this rub--it is quick for when you don't quited know what to do with your chicken but are short on time. I used it on a package of drumsticks and scaled the recipe back to 8 servings. I didn't have the lemon pepper so I used a regular pepper blend and used reg. herbs instead of ground herbs. But the taste was really nice. I liked the sweetness that the sugar gave it. It is a KEEPER for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used a mixture of light brown sugar and granulated white sugar and I omitted the MSG (I'm sensitive to MSG, it gives me migraines). What I did was throw all the rub ingredients into a medium sized Tupperware container, slapped a lid on it, and handed it to my youngest boy to shake until the ingredients were well combined. I rubbed this on both chicken legs and pork ribs. EXCELLENT rub and it honestly tasted good on both meats. We grilled this over a charcoal grill which only made it better. We all were "mmmmmming" over this meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Whole family loved it. Went great with a salad too. Was a bit too sweet for my husband and i's liking but our 18 month old whoms picky about meat loved it so a definate keeper. Also i did not use msg but thats a personal choice and was great with no other alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Awesome dry rub; I left out the MSG though. Ive used this quite a bit already over the past 2 months. Always comes out great when I've used the grill. Highly recommend it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BawstinRedSawx
Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Good on chicken - I didn't add the last 3 ingredients, or the MSG. Only let it sit with the rub on it for about 10 mins also, rather than 30 mins like is recommended. Still came out tasty - easy way to add a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Like everyone else, no MSG. Instead of the salt, I used garlic salt instead of garlic powder. Rubbed on pic o the chix and let sit for maybe 20 min. Grill was being serviced so cooked on convection then grill (when it was ready). Nice, very nice, thanks for sharing! Will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States