Plantation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought this was a pretty yummy dish. I changed it up a little, using what I had on hand - and my family loved it. I used spaghetti noodles, only 1 lb. of ground beef. I used way more than a pinch of garlic and onion powder. You have to or it's too bland. I added cumin if you can believe it - and that REALLY added a nice flavor. I skipped the evaporated milk and just used a little whole milk. Added corn and butter peas - really good combo. I make a stroganoff that is very similar - except I use 8oz sour cream instead of cream cheese and add a packet of French Onion soup mix for a fantastic flavor. I think I will make those substitutions next time. But this is a nice base recipe to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Added a can of green chilles to add more flavor, otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Delish! I didn't have any cream cheese, and after reading reviews wouldn't have used it anyway. I used sour cream instead, which gave the sauce FLAVOR and tang! I loved it. The kids and hubby all loved it as well. I will be making this one again- SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeavenleeKid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this was really good and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great recipe; however, my changes were: used ground chicken as we don't eat red meat, added A LOT more spices like garlic salt, onion salt some pepper. I also used some fresh garlic (you know the kind out of the jar that's already minced, I guess that's not "fresh"). Other than that I kept it the same, I was just concerned about the blandness some people experienced so I upped the spices. My family loves casseroles and this one is a keeper! I also chose to bake it instead of serving it right away, so I just poured it all into a casserole dish, topped with mozza cheese and baked for about 15 minutes. Yum! Served it with some garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Like others said, very bland. I seasoned the meat heavily, so it tasted good, but the sauce is very lacking in flavor. I dumped a bunch of garlic powder and pepper on it, but it still needs more. I don't know what combination of spices would make this good, so I'm just not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this easy weeknight meal. A quick throw-together kind of hamburger helperish skillet meal, it was very hearty. I saw others' comments about the recipe being bland, and I think that is because the recipe is very light on the spices. A "pinch" is not nearly enough of any of the spices. I used a generous 1/2 tsp each of the onion powder, garlic powder and salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of the pepper. I also used more evaporated milk than the recpie called for because it was really, really thick. With extra milk, the consistency was great. We loved it and I will definitely make this again for a super-quick and easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was great, but sat really heavy so I had a lot of leftovers. The ingredients really added up to a good ole comfort food dish, even if it was pretty dense. I like that when it's this tasty. I live alone but failed to cut this recipe so by day 5 of eating this for dinner it seemed a lot less satisfying than when I first made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Ok;.. So I did have to omit the corn due to us not having any.. but, I went step by step for the rest of it.. and my husband ( who will eat anything) wouldnt eat it. So, I did this as I love to try new things, and there were some great reviews But.. Hubby wouldn't eat it, so I will not be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maud, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Not bad. Very filling and easy to make. Used fresh onion/garlic instead of powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

A meaty, creamy, pasta dish with mushrooms.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States