Plantation-Style Vanilla Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good. Got the thumbs up not only from me, but from the little ones, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Husband thinks this is delicious, and I do too! I removed the peel and pith in the same manner that you peel a pineapple. This cuts out the bitterness. I added a splash of bottled lemon juice. I tripled it and added the zest of two whole lemons. I added the entire peel of half of one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
It's my pleasure to be the first to rate this recipe. With just a hint of vanilla aftertaste, it tastes something like if Orange Julius were to make lemonade? It has just enough sweetness to bring out the vanilla flavor, but not too much to overwhelm the tartness of the lemon. Also, I'm not sure if the recipe is intended to use the entire lemon rind and not just the zest(?), as lemon pith is quite bitter. I HIGHLY recommend using Meyer lemons if you can find them. They're sweeter and much more fragrant; plus, they have minimal pith, so you can put the rinds directly into the blender without zesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
mmmmmm yummy! Im new to making homemade lemonade so I skipped the rind part and just blended the pulp and juice in a blender with the sugar water. I like it...the vanilla adds a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelcWall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I love this lemonade - it's got the perfect blend of lemon sour and vanilla musk. I use one or two more lemons than the recipe calls for because I like my lemonade nice and sour, and I largely omit the rinds to avoid the bitterness of the lemon pith. I am always grabbing 10-12 lemons at the store to stock up for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious lemonade; reminds me a bit of muscle beach lemonade from Hot Dog on a Stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This lemonade is awesome as is. I've made it twice now, once as written, and the second time, I only used 1/2 C sugar. I like my lemonade a little less sweet, and a little more tart. Will definitely be a summer staple here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Pretty excited about this recipe.. Never made Lemonade before and this recipe made it soo EASY! (and Yummy!). Lemon Trees everywhere.. and all those Lemon's go to waste. Grabbed 3 HUGE Lemons from the Neighbors tree.. and WHOLA! 10 min later Super Yummy Treat. Poured some in small Glasses, added some raspberries and sliced strawberries and by the AM I'll have delicious Lemon Icy's! FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dowlingdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made this to go with dinner (whole roasted chicken and sage red potatoes / carrots / green beans / onion)...went perfectly with the meal. Just enough vanilla flavor but recognizable as a lemonade. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
good but not a very strong vanilla taste - i don't think i could taste it at all... and it was a lot of work... i think i'd rather just squeeze my lemons and zest them than puree the whole thing in the blender and then i could skip the step where you strain it... which was kind of messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States