Plantation Ham Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
We did enjoy this recipe but I will keep playing with it. Use half as much pepper as 2 t. is too overpowering. Any more and they'd be inedible. Also, the patties are quite loose. Next time I'm going to try using paper towels to wring out the broccoli so it's really dry. I did press it in a colander but that wasn't enough. Also, I think dusting the patties in cornmeal just before placing them in the pan might be a good tweak to give the exterior a nice crunch. My substitutions: fresh chives for onion; no anise seed; oregano for basil; 1 t. granulated garlic for cloves; and cheddar/jack for asiago cheese. Also I added three chopped artichoke hearts, a couple of dashes of red pepper flakes and 1/2 c. bacon crumbles. PS - these are quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda T
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Quite tasty. Minor changes.. using a mix of red pepper and onion instead of all onion as I had some leftover and cooked with non stick spray instead of oil. I served with a honey mustard sauce.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Followed the recipe, except omitted the anise as all reviewers seemed to suggest. Kind of blah. After his first bite my husband went to the refrigerator and brought out 5 different condiments to try on them, mustards, salsas, etc. Couldn't eat them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was EASY, FAST and delicious. I had to use parmesan cheese because that's all I had. Mixing and forming with your hands is essential. They are even better left over and re-heated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I'm giving this a four for the idea and the flavor, although I did leave out the anise and the onion. I ground up my ham with all of the ingredients except the broccoli, then mixed that in by hand. The problem was, they fell apart really easily. Definitely use a non-stick skillet, because I didn't at first and had to switch since they were in pieces by the time I got them flipped over. I think it's a really good idea - they just need to be a little more cohesive. I may try them in the oven some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I did not have many of the ingredients, but this got me going with the ham. While I loved the way mine turned out (5 stars), the kids did not. My version: Ham, fresh zuchini, fresh celery, a little swiss cut up and parmesan. I did not have onion or anise. But this seems to be a very versital recipe once you have the basics. So for me Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Pollard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Yummy! My grandma gave us a 1/2 ham and our little family didn't know what to do with it all, you can only eat so many ham sandwiches, you know? These are really good-even our 5-year-old said they were "awesome" like 3 times :-) I used shredded Parmesan, only 1/2 an onion, cooking spray, and omitted the anise-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I tried to be true to the recipe, except for using turkey ham and leaving out the anise, and this mix did not work for me. Why a 4 rating? Because it was delicious and I think it was my fault. I had pulsed the broccoli and onion in the food processor (but not too fine), and I think I should have spent some time squeezing/draining them before adding to the ham. The mix was so wet I decided to fry a trial patty and ended up with ham hash. To salvage the mix I dumped in a bunch of bread crumbs and wheat bran. It was still pretty loose, but I found if I made the patties very thin and cooked over low heat so they could firm up enough to be flipped without burning I ended up with a really nice texture. I suggest not adding salt at all until you've tasted it, ham is usually very salty already, as is the cheese. When I make these again (and I will) I'll make sure to drain the veggies as a separate step. Served with a mayo/honey/mustard sauce I just winged, plain green beans and Kettle chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Excellent recipe. I eliminated the anise completely. Use all three eggs- you need them. Equally good with gruyere or swiss cheese. Let them cook for the 3-4 minutes on one side before flipping them. I also like to soften the chopped onions in a pan before adding them to the mix. If you form the patties quite small they also make nice appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These actually turned out better than I thought they would. I used a 10 oz. package of frozed spinach and thought it was a bit too much. I think with broccoli it would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States