Plantain Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These were PERFECT, a great recipe when you keep putting off using the last 1 or 2 plantains. They were light, flavorful and delicious, they definitely did not last long in our family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These are wonderful!!!!!! I modified the recipe to make it gluten-free and mashed the bananas in the Cuisinart (they are harder than a regular banana). They are moist and just the right amount of sweetness. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
What a great invention! Ripe plantains are BLACK, by the way. No need for cuisinnart mixing. They also are wonderful for amarillos (fried in a little oil). Serve with pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! Try them with butter! In fact, add a little more butter when you're making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huesiree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are delicious! I modified it to be gluten-free using Bob's Red Mill all purpose GF flour and guar gum, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. They are delicious as muffins, and I also tried just putting it in an 8x8 dish and baking it as cornbread - they still came out moist, sweet and flavorfull :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were great! Just served them for brunch and they went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Instead of making muffins, I put it in an 8X8 pan. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. It took a little longer to bake, but so worth it! This was so good. The whole family enjoyed it. I also think adding some spice to it would be good too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I purchased plantains by accident. What to do with them.....If found this recipe. Apprehensive since I am not a corn bread fan. It is a MAGNIFICENT recipe!!! Tonight the third time I am making them......Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmar, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Surprisingly delicious! My husband was very skeptical when I told him I was making muffins with plantains...but then he tried them and couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made three batches today. One batch for my toddlers using this recipe and adding an additional two tablespoons of ambrosia honey. The second batch was made for my husband and I just added diced candied jakepenos. The third batch I substituted milk with almond milk, and flour with almond flour, and added candied jalepenos! All three turned out great thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States