Plantain Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are delicious! I modified it to be gluten-free using Bob's Red Mill all purpose GF flour and guar gum, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. They are delicious as muffins, and I also tried just putting it in an 8x8 dish and baking it as cornbread - they still came out moist, sweet and flavorfull :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These are wonderful!!!!!! I modified the recipe to make it gluten-free and mashed the bananas in the Cuisinart (they are harder than a regular banana). They are moist and just the right amount of sweetness. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
It's more like 4.5 stars. I liked the flavour and being Jamaican I tried it with ripe bananas and also made panckaes just super:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! Try them with butter! In fact, add a little more butter when you're making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huesiree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Thanks for sharing such a creative recipe. I love plantains and corn muffins, genius idea. I made these without eggs and use 1/3 cup drained crushed pineapple & 2 cups mashed (almost black ripe) plantains. If you use soy milk and earth balance this would be a vegan muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
who knew? loved them! made them in advance, froze them and took them on a camping trip. served w/ chili. would have made a great breakfast muffin as well. plantain taste is mild and perfect. super moist as well...and they still hold together nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are great warm with butter. After one day the quality rapidly diminishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
What a great invention! Ripe plantains are BLACK, by the way. No need for cuisinnart mixing. They also are wonderful for amarillos (fried in a little oil). Serve with pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I purchased plantains by accident. What to do with them.....If found this recipe. Apprehensive since I am not a corn bread fan. It is a MAGNIFICENT recipe!!! Tonight the third time I am making them......Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmar, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. Very moist, but it took me almost 30 mins to lightly brown and cook it all the way. Great mix between a corn bread and cake. My kids and I enjoyed this for breakfast! I think the texture Of this muffin would render nicely with spicy savory ingredients like corn-bacon-jalapeño! Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States