Plantain Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Thanks for sharing such a creative recipe. I love plantains and corn muffins, genius idea. I made these without eggs and use 1/3 cup drained crushed pineapple & 2 cups mashed (almost black ripe) plantains. If you use soy milk and earth balance this would be a vegan muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were great! Just served them for brunch and they went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are great warm with butter. After one day the quality rapidly diminishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
who knew? loved them! made them in advance, froze them and took them on a camping trip. served w/ chili. would have made a great breakfast muffin as well. plantain taste is mild and perfect. super moist as well...and they still hold together nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are delicious! I modified it to be gluten-free using Bob's Red Mill all purpose GF flour and guar gum, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. They are delicious as muffins, and I also tried just putting it in an 8x8 dish and baking it as cornbread - they still came out moist, sweet and flavorfull :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
It's more like 4.5 stars. I liked the flavour and being Jamaican I tried it with ripe bananas and also made panckaes just super:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These were very tasty but a bit on the sweet side for my taste. I will cut back on the sugar next time. Thank you for adding yet another fantastic way to use plantains. In a Cuban/French/American household, you can imagine how many different ways we use them already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! Try them with butter! In fact, add a little more butter when you're making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huesiree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
What a great invention! Ripe plantains are BLACK, by the way. No need for cuisinnart mixing. They also are wonderful for amarillos (fried in a little oil). Serve with pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These are wonderful!!!!!! I modified the recipe to make it gluten-free and mashed the bananas in the Cuisinart (they are harder than a regular banana). They are moist and just the right amount of sweetness. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States