Plantain Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
What a great invention! Ripe plantains are BLACK, by the way. No need for cuisinnart mixing. They also are wonderful for amarillos (fried in a little oil). Serve with pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are delicious! I modified it to be gluten-free using Bob's Red Mill all purpose GF flour and guar gum, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. They are delicious as muffins, and I also tried just putting it in an 8x8 dish and baking it as cornbread - they still came out moist, sweet and flavorfull :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! Try them with butter! In fact, add a little more butter when you're making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huesiree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I purchased plantains by accident. What to do with them.....If found this recipe. Apprehensive since I am not a corn bread fan. It is a MAGNIFICENT recipe!!! Tonight the third time I am making them......Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmar, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These are wonderful!!!!!! I modified the recipe to make it gluten-free and mashed the bananas in the Cuisinart (they are harder than a regular banana). They are moist and just the right amount of sweetness. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were great! Just served them for brunch and they went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Instead of making muffins, I put it in an 8X8 pan. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. It took a little longer to bake, but so worth it! This was so good. The whole family enjoyed it. I also think adding some spice to it would be good too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Surprisingly delicious! My husband was very skeptical when I told him I was making muffins with plantains...but then he tried them and couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These were PERFECT, a great recipe when you keep putting off using the last 1 or 2 plantains. They were light, flavorful and delicious, they definitely did not last long in our family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made three batches today. One batch for my toddlers using this recipe and adding an additional two tablespoons of ambrosia honey. The second batch was made for my husband and I just added diced candied jakepenos. The third batch I substituted milk with almond milk, and flour with almond flour, and added candied jalepenos! All three turned out great thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States