Plantain Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made three batches today. One batch for my toddlers using this recipe and adding an additional two tablespoons of ambrosia honey. The second batch was made for my husband and I just added diced candied jakepenos. The third batch I substituted milk with almond milk, and flour with almond flour, and added candied jalepenos! All three turned out great thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I just made these, and they are fantastic! A little on the sweet side for me if you're using truly ripe plantains as I did (completely black) so I will cut back on the sugar a bit next time. Otherwise they are fabulous! I made them into mini-muffins and my toddler can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These were PERFECT, a great recipe when you keep putting off using the last 1 or 2 plantains. They were light, flavorful and delicious, they definitely did not last long in our family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Surprisingly delicious! My husband was very skeptical when I told him I was making muffins with plantains...but then he tried them and couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Really enjoyed them. Gives them a nice banana flavor and a great way to use plantain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Richmond Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
My rating is more like 4.5. My husband mistakenly bought plantains instead of bananas, LOL! So I needed something to do with them. I'd never used plantains. This was easy and tasty and if I ever get them again, I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I tried this using a bunch of substitution, instead of the sugar i used splenda, i used olive oil instead of corn oil and used the silk milk instead of regular milk. Everyone enjoyed it and asked for seconds. It was awesome and healthy. Even the kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I purchased plantains by accident. What to do with them.....If found this recipe. Apprehensive since I am not a corn bread fan. It is a MAGNIFICENT recipe!!! Tonight the third time I am making them......Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmar, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Instead of making muffins, I put it in an 8X8 pan. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. It took a little longer to bake, but so worth it! This was so good. The whole family enjoyed it. I also think adding some spice to it would be good too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. Very moist, but it took me almost 30 mins to lightly brown and cook it all the way. Great mix between a corn bread and cake. My kids and I enjoyed this for breakfast! I think the texture Of this muffin would render nicely with spicy savory ingredients like corn-bacon-jalapeño! Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States