Plain Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
very good version of a traditional potato soup. My husband loved it with lots of crackers crumpled into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danese, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Fantastic! I cooked the potatoes in water, then added the Evaporated Milk. I also added some dried onions and some vegetable broth in powder (Loose, from the Co-Op). That's it. I made it again next day and I added some Whip milk from carton and I added some D Milk. My family had two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This reminds me of the soup my grandmother used to make. Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellevue, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I added some crushed chicken boullion cubes and a splash of white wine. Next time I'll probably use chicken stock to subsitute for the water like another user suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was so happy to find this basic recipe. I added about 1/3 cup of cornstarch (whisked with a fork in water before pouring in) to thicken it up. Spiced it up with a few spices, subbed the milk with soymilk, but this was a great place to start. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Fatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I used chicken broth instead of water and just one can of evaporated milk. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top when it was served. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
All 5 of us gave this a thumbs up, including a very picky 7 yr old! I used fat free evap milk, and it was fine. For fun, I added a "toppings buffet" that included low sodium crumbled bacon, low fat shredded cheddar, & chopped green onions. I used my immersion blender as suggested, and it worked like a charm! My husband suggested next time keeping some chunks of potatoes in the soup, but I thought it was PERFECT!!! Thanks for a quick and easy meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This soup is so tasty. I made the following changes: I used chicken broth to cover potatoes instead of water, I added a chopped sweet onion, and I only used one can of evaporated milk. I also topped the soup with crumbled bacon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was great...I just had milk so I subtracted the water. I also added a good handful of cheese to everyone's bowl and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States