Plain Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
very good version of a traditional potato soup. My husband loved it with lots of crackers crumpled into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danese, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Fantastic! I cooked the potatoes in water, then added the Evaporated Milk. I also added some dried onions and some vegetable broth in powder (Loose, from the Co-Op). That's it. I made it again next day and I added some Whip milk from carton and I added some D Milk. My family had two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This reminds me of the soup my grandmother used to make. Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellevue, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I added some crushed chicken boullion cubes and a splash of white wine. Next time I'll probably use chicken stock to subsitute for the water like another user suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was so happy to find this basic recipe. I added about 1/3 cup of cornstarch (whisked with a fork in water before pouring in) to thicken it up. Spiced it up with a few spices, subbed the milk with soymilk, but this was a great place to start. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Fatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I used chicken broth instead of water and just one can of evaporated milk. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top when it was served. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
All 5 of us gave this a thumbs up, including a very picky 7 yr old! I used fat free evap milk, and it was fine. For fun, I added a "toppings buffet" that included low sodium crumbled bacon, low fat shredded cheddar, & chopped green onions. I used my immersion blender as suggested, and it worked like a charm! My husband suggested next time keeping some chunks of potatoes in the soup, but I thought it was PERFECT!!! Thanks for a quick and easy meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This soup is so tasty. I made the following changes: I used chicken broth to cover potatoes instead of water, I added a chopped sweet onion, and I only used one can of evaporated milk. I also topped the soup with crumbled bacon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was great...I just had milk so I subtracted the water. I also added a good handful of cheese to everyone's bowl and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States