Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
We loved this! I used two 8 or 9 inch rounds instead and baked about 25 minutes. I used a little honey in place of some of the orange juice. Came out of the pans perfectly, fluffy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
First made the cake per recipe. It was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I wanted to make an apple cake for my daughter that has an egg allergy. The recipe called to use a "Yellow cake Mix" so instead I used this recipe. Per the suggestion of some reviewers, I increased the baking powder to 2 "rounded" tsp. I added 2 Tbsp of Vinegar, I increased the Vanilla to 1 Tbsp and added 1 quater a cup of brown sugar, then I added 1 Tbsp of ground Cinnamon and as a last step I folded in Granny Smith apple peeled, cored and finely diced. The cake was really delicious, moist and fluff, you really couldn't tell that it was an eggless cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I was disappointed. It tastes kind of like cornbread. I did use whole wheat pastry flour, and surprisingly it took only 15 minutes to cook and it cooked BEAUTIFULLY, and the texture was amazing but it looked and tasted like cornbread. I am hesitant to believe it was the whole wheat pastry flour, or maybe whether it's the brand of orange juice used, but I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beky Efseaff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I am so in love with this recipe! I had nearly given up on the idea that my five-year old son, who's allergic to eggs, would be able to enjoy cake. I have tried numerous egg substitutes in cake recipes without success. This cake was DELICIOUS! He loves it too. A total success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great tasting cake, good for those with egg allergies. I made a glaze with some orange juice, triple sec, butter, and sugar and put that on it to emphasize the orange flavor, and it was really good that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe is excellent. Tried it once and added 2 tablespoon white vinegar. Be careful of flour lumps while adding the condensed milk n orange juice to the flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
It had good texture for an eggless cake but lacked the orangey flavor. If I make it again I will grate orange rind into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbhalla
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Turned out perfect. Also,doesn't taste too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbhalla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made this for my 6 year old son's birthday party today and covered it with a simple butter frosting. I added a little more vanilla extract and a tablesoon of vinegar as some other users suggested. It was a hit! This was the first at a kids' party that they actually asked for seconds! Thank you - this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States