Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is a fabulous cake. My little guy is allergic to eggs, and it has been difficult to find a "birthday worthy" cake. A great use of condensed milk, too--so easy, tasted great, not too sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
my 8-year-old son loved helping me mix up this easy cake. he could lick the spoon without worring about raw egss. easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Excellent! My daughter is allergic to eggs, and has never had cake that really tasted like cake! Until last night! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Margaret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Please note, for those of you out there who CAN eat eggs---pick another recipe. This cake is definitely plain (with a capital P!) but for those who cannot eat eggs I'm sure it is the best alternative. It definitely has a cake like texture and look but it tastes like cornbread to me. You cannot taste the orange juice at all and actually the cake is not very sweet which is probably where a glaze or frosting would help. After some additional thought Cream Cheese frosting might do wonders for this cake. Regardless, if you are going to make this be prepared to be VERY creative and dress it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
I made this for a guest(as the little girl is severly allergic to eggs) at my daughter's 3rd birthday party. The little girl was delighted to be eating birthday cake just like all the other children and her Mom just kept raving about how great the cake tasted. I personally tried the cake and did not really care for the grainy texture but I am not a connoseur of eggless cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I was just curious to try out an eggless cake recipe. I didn't care much for the cornbread-like texture, but my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Very easy.I thought the taste and texture were fine for not having eggs.My grandson is allergic to eggs so this was great. I made cupcakes baking them 20-22 minutes, and used regular canned icing and sprinkles. Now he has cupcakes just like the other kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. By far the best texture for an eggless cake - and comes out perfect everytime. It is only mildly sweet, so frosting works well. Another addition that I do is to add chocolate chips, and other types of sweet chips into the mixture at the end - that adds to the sweetness and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
It's a good cake - I have served it to people who won't eat eggs for one reason or another and they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Made this for my sister's birthday, came out great! The only thing I did differently was use olive oil instead of melted butter (less saturated fat). Relatives loved the smell and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States