Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Very good cake. This tastes more like a pound cake, which I really enjoyed. I kept 1/2 cup of batter out, added 1 T. cocoa, and mixed it together. I put 1/2 of the batter in the bundt pan, put the chocolate around in the batter, and then added the rest of batter to the top. Gave it that extra little sweetness. Great recipe for us vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I have found many good eggless chocolate cake recipes...but this one is reallly good ..I didn't know how much 14 oz's is my can said 300ml of condensed milk...but i dont think it was enough i will use more next time..all in all i love the cupcakes...and my 2 year old loved the batter ...lol thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The best eggless cake ever. I don't know much about baking but I gave it a try because we are vegetarians. I can't beleive how good it turned out in my first try. I will be making this cake very often. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was my first attempt at an eggless cake. I used cake flour insteaad of all-purpose, only used 1/2 cup of melted butter, and added 2 T of vinegar and 2 T of sugar, though I'm not sure the vinegar was necessary. The cake came out greasy and a little rubbery. The texture was like cornbread, minus the grittiness. The taste is fine, though plain like the name suggests. Since my son is egg allergic, this is our new standard. I will make again, but continue to tweak the recipe until it suits us. Still, it's a very good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Nahr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This cake was not good at all. It is way too sweet and tastes like canned milk, yuck! I gave it 2 stars instead of one because it did rise, though it was still thick and doughy on the inside. Definitely not worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Awesome cake!! Was a huge hit at our daughter's 1st birthday party. Solid (yet fluffy on inside) cake, easy to icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer J
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Best eggless cake I have had so far. Instead of vanilla extract, I used almond extract and put slivers of almonds in the icing. I also took the advice to use vinegar, a little more sugar and more flavoring. I think the texture turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I needed a non-chocolate eggless cake recipe for my son's best friends who are vegetarian. This recipe is terrific. People can't believe that eggless can taste so good. I've used this recipe for a layer cake and cupcakes. It is moist, light and sweet enough where you can add frosting and it is just right. In fact, this recipe is so easy that it is my standard cake recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARISTA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Thanks a lot for this recipe of eggless cake. I am vegetarian & do not eat egg at all. I was looking for such recipe & when I made a vanilla almond cake as per this recipe it turned out very good. This was my first time ever in baking a cake at home. You must be a very good cook. This a God's gift & its so nice of u to share this talent with others. Good Luck for everything in ur life. Thanks Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
We used this recipe to make a pineapple upside-down cake and it turned out excellent. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei And Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States