Plain Egg Less Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
this is such a simple and ohh! so delicious cake. I was actually looking for an eggless coffee cake recipe simply because I ran out of eggs but wanted to have a cake like right now! So I took this recipe, added some cinnamon in the batter and also made a topping of chopped apples, walnuts, little brown sugar and cinnamon mixed with the little butter that I reserved from the 1 cup that was actually called for.it came out so well.Guess melting the butter was the trick here, the cake was so moist and fluffy.makes me feel like I'm becoming a good baker. Thank you Margaret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Awesome! I added 1/4 c. sugar + 1/2 tsp. salt to the dry ingredients. Also, used salted butter. Just fabulous! Never thought an egg-free cake could be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This cake is wonderul! This recipe fills a 10" pan very well. Would need to double the recipe to make a 2 layer 10" cake. The taste is great. I took the advice of a couple of reviewers. I used cake flour, added 1 T of vinegar and upped the vanilla to 1T. Right out of the oven it may taste a bit too buttery, but it's perfect when it cools. Thanks SO much for this recipe. I am using it to fill a bakery order for an egg allergic kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Made this for a little girl at church as shes allergic to eggs. This rose perfectly, smells and tastes wonderful. Even my kids were wanting one. Made 20 cupcakes that are beautiful and very tasty. Not overly sweet, just perfect. I will definatly make this again and again. Only change I made was I used Smart Beat Margarine and it was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was a very good eggless recipes, but, better with a few changes. This is the only eggless recipe I have found where the cake still sticks together, and doesn't crumble anywhere, or, where it is a sticky-dense like texture. As suggested by others, I used cake flour, rather than regular flour. I used 1 Tablespoon of vanilla (rather than 2 teaspoons). I also added 2 Tablespoons of sugar and 2 Tablespoons of vinegar. These changes give better flavor and texture. Also, because I was making this for a childrens birthday party (and one child was allergic to eggs), I made cupcakes, so, I added in one small bottle of the Betty Crocker "Stars" decorating decors (they are like the sprinkles you put on top of frosting). This gave the cupcakes a "funfetti" cakemix-like fun look. Also, because I made these as cupcakes, I cut the baking time down to 18 minutes. I'm actually thinking of trying this next time with pinneaple juice, rather than orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great base for an eggless cake. I modified it quite a bit based on the ingredients I had at home though, so here is the full modified recipe: 2 1/2 cups flour 2 teaspoons baking powder 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 cup 2% milk 1/2 cup brown sugar orange zest (from 1 medium orange) 1 cup water 2 tsp vinegar 1tbsp dark rum 1tbsp vanilla extract 1/2 cup melted butter 1/2 cup sour cream Sour cream decreased the grease feeling from the butter, but still kept the moisture. We don't have condensed milk readily available in my area in Europe, so I just used regular milk+sugar... I could have condensed it myself but was short on time. Orange zest and rum are very common ingredients here in Europe as well, I use both frequently and couldn't imagine this cake without them. Baked at 170 degrees celsius for 40 minutes and the cake rose quite a bit, and was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Delicious eggless cake! Great if you want to make an authentic, stays bound cake for allergy sufferers. Moist too, but doesn't keep well for longer than a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
awesome dairy free version I concocted from this recipe...substitute the evaporated milk with coconut milk and the butter with vegan butter sticks...turn it into a pineapples upside down by placing pineapple rings in bottom of pan Before pouring in batter! took no longer to bake.then frosted with a blood orange glaze made from scratch !! AWESOME NEW FIND IN THIS ONE OF A KIND RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adialinofelix
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a perfect eggless cake - moist and just sweet enough (I increased the vanilla extract to 1 tbsp), not crumbly at all. The color is nice and golden, not pale as a couple of the pictures showed, so I posted mine as well. I was looking for an eggless cake to make for a birthday cake and this is it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adialinofelix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Baked it on DH birthday as mom-in-law does not eat egg....it was a great hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States