Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Made this for a little girl at church as shes allergic to eggs. This rose perfectly, smells and tastes wonderful. Even my kids were wanting one. Made 20 cupcakes that are beautiful and very tasty. Not overly sweet, just perfect. I will definatly make this again and again. Only change I made was I used Smart Beat Margarine and it was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was a very good eggless recipes, but, better with a few changes. This is the only eggless recipe I have found where the cake still sticks together, and doesn't crumble anywhere, or, where it is a sticky-dense like texture. As suggested by others, I used cake flour, rather than regular flour. I used 1 Tablespoon of vanilla (rather than 2 teaspoons). I also added 2 Tablespoons of sugar and 2 Tablespoons of vinegar. These changes give better flavor and texture. Also, because I was making this for a childrens birthday party (and one child was allergic to eggs), I made cupcakes, so, I added in one small bottle of the Betty Crocker "Stars" decorating decors (they are like the sprinkles you put on top of frosting). This gave the cupcakes a "funfetti" cakemix-like fun look. Also, because I made these as cupcakes, I cut the baking time down to 18 minutes. I'm actually thinking of trying this next time with pinneaple juice, rather than orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great base for an eggless cake. I modified it quite a bit based on the ingredients I had at home though, so here is the full modified recipe: 2 1/2 cups flour 2 teaspoons baking powder 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 cup 2% milk 1/2 cup brown sugar orange zest (from 1 medium orange) 1 cup water 2 tsp vinegar 1tbsp dark rum 1tbsp vanilla extract 1/2 cup melted butter 1/2 cup sour cream Sour cream decreased the grease feeling from the butter, but still kept the moisture. We don't have condensed milk readily available in my area in Europe, so I just used regular milk+sugar... I could have condensed it myself but was short on time. Orange zest and rum are very common ingredients here in Europe as well, I use both frequently and couldn't imagine this cake without them. Baked at 170 degrees celsius for 40 minutes and the cake rose quite a bit, and was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Delicious eggless cake! Great if you want to make an authentic, stays bound cake for allergy sufferers. Moist too, but doesn't keep well for longer than a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
awesome dairy free version I concocted from this recipe...substitute the evaporated milk with coconut milk and the butter with vegan butter sticks...turn it into a pineapples upside down by placing pineapple rings in bottom of pan Before pouring in batter! took no longer to bake.then frosted with a blood orange glaze made from scratch !! AWESOME NEW FIND IN THIS ONE OF A KIND RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adialinofelix
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a perfect eggless cake - moist and just sweet enough (I increased the vanilla extract to 1 tbsp), not crumbly at all. The color is nice and golden, not pale as a couple of the pictures showed, so I posted mine as well. I was looking for an eggless cake to make for a birthday cake and this is it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adialinofelix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Baked it on DH birthday as mom-in-law does not eat egg....it was a great hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I was looking for eggless cake receipe for my DH birthday cake as DH's mom does not eat egg. This was a super hit!! My mother in law said it is perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina123AsM
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I just tried this recipe over the weekend. It came out rather nicely. My kids and I enjoyed it very much and even shared with Hindu friends who are fasting and can't eat eggs during the fast. I made a few changes as suggested by others. I didn't use orange juice. I used water instead and I added 1 Tbsp. white vinegar. I increased the vanilla extract to 1 Tbsp. and used 3/4 cup melted butter. I felt that it was a tad dry so next time I will use the full 1 cup butter. Other than that, the taste was good. I do recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina123AsM
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Amazing. Added the vinegar as suggested by other reviewers. No condensed milk in the house, so I used plain milk instead. Added chocolate chips. Terrific cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States