Plain Egg Less Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Orange juice helps keep this cake from tasting too much like sweetened condensed milk. It is mildly sweet and has a tender crumb. I used two 8 inch round pans and it was done in about 25 minutes on convection baking at 350°F. I plan to serve with fruit and whipped cream so I didn't want a too sweet cake, anyway. Now that I have an egg allergy, I need new recipes such as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
If you are looking for a cake without eggs, it's good, but compared to a traditional cake it was PLAIN! I used cake and pastry flour and added 4 tablespoons of white sugar and used a basic buttercream frosting. The texture and sweetness were good but I was disappointed with the flavour. I was hoping for a bit more of the orange flavour. Next time I will add orange or lemon extract and choose a frosting with a little more pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mle13125
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I used blood orange juice and 1 TB of vanilla , then substituted 1cup coconut yogurt, 3/4 cup milk for the sweetened, condensed milk. Turned out very moist and didn't deflate. Could definitely use a little sugar, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by perly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
If u have food(egg) allergy like me this is the best cake that you need to bake... You cant even tell that theres no eggs on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this cake today and it is delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Delicious and so easy. Stays moist for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is the third time for us with this recipe. I have children with egg allergies, and I was looking for another cake besides chocolate. This cake works great and is so versatile. Tonight I'm combining this recipe with my chocolate cake recipe and the results are GREAT. Very easy and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
We loved this! I used two 8 or 9 inch rounds instead and baked about 25 minutes. I used a little honey in place of some of the orange juice. Came out of the pans perfectly, fluffy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
First made the cake per recipe. It was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I wanted to make an apple cake for my daughter that has an egg allergy. The recipe called to use a "Yellow cake Mix" so instead I used this recipe. Per the suggestion of some reviewers, I increased the baking powder to 2 "rounded" tsp. I added 2 Tbsp of Vinegar, I increased the Vanilla to 1 Tbsp and added 1 quater a cup of brown sugar, then I added 1 Tbsp of ground Cinnamon and as a last step I folded in Granny Smith apple peeled, cored and finely diced. The cake was really delicious, moist and fluff, you really couldn't tell that it was an eggless cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States