Plain Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Just a heads up! You can buy an entire block of caramel in the greater Seattle area at any "Cash and Carry" which is a restaurant supply store but open to the public. Five pound block for 20.00!No more unwrapping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great texture for dipping apples! Make sure to get the waxy coating off your apples and chill them before dipping to help the caramel stick and cool quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
To put an extra "zest" after I dipped it in caramel I waited until it was "dry" and dipped it halfway in white chocolate then dipped it in nuts right after the white chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kutypie21
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very easy to do, first time making caramel apples and they turned out great - I posted a photo of mine where I covered them in crushed peanuts, mini M&M's, Skor bar pieces and sliced almonds - And then I drizzled them with white and milk chocolate (chips melted in a waterbath) - Sold them at work for a charity fundraiser and 6 were sold before I got them to the table :) Also used Honeycrisp apples along with the usual Granny Smith apples - Good for Halloween and any fundraiser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Butte, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy and worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
What a great and simple recipe for a simple treat! I used Kraft Caramel Bits instead of the regular candy squares and I melted them on the stove instead of the microwave. Maybe I should have done that because the bits never melted all the way and I ended up with several "clots" of caramel. Other than that, the caramel stuck very nicely and didn't slide very much at all. Next time I'm going to melt some chocolate chips and drizzle some of that over the caramel. Yum!!! Oh and I actually used Macintosh apples because I like them better. I save Granny's for the pies! I also used parchment paper instead of waxed paper. You have to remember to eat these up in a couple of days. Otherwise, if they sit around too long the caramel begins to granulate right on the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
wonderfully simple recipe. I used small granny smith apples and was able to make 12. I used wax paper to line my pan with instead of the foil. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've made it a dozen times. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We loved these. Be sure to remove the wax from the apple so the caramel will stick better. I put graham crackers, oreo cookies, nuts, and peanuts in the food processor--separately-- and rolled the caramelized apple in it.We also crushed some candy bars for a coating.(snickers and Butterfingers) Drizzled melted chocolate around the stick and top half of the apple.. YUM! After they cooled, I put them in cellophane party bags from the dollar store. Adding curly ribbon gave them a festive look. We loved making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I love caramel apples, and buying the name brand caramels makes such a difference! We dip our bottoms in sugar or nuts or chocolate chips to help keep them from sticking before we place them on the wax paper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States