Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Nothing to change, kids loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Originally i made these for my two boys as a reward and they loved them as much I did. I made them into little doughnut balls because it was easier for them to eat and my husband had some left over the next day and said they are great as a quick breakfast with some syrup like a pancake. I'm definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denishia Jimenez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Look absolutely amazing but is there an alternative to frying them since I don't own a deep fryer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I read and tried many types and flavors of doughnuts as I am new to baking and doughnuts are my favorite empty carb decadent treat. I have made all types of breads,cinnamon rolls,cakes,fudge and I have taken from one recipe and added to a part of another recipe and just using common sense and some of the info that I have read about and watched videos about.I am pretty confident at this point in my abilities in making just about everything that I have worked on over the past few years,but then came doughnuts and I have made more failures by far than successes. I made this after reading many reviews and added a bit more cinnamon,nutmeg,sugar etc. I used to make the mistake of adding too much flour as many new bakers do but I did not do it this time but I did let the dough sit covered in the bowl after just combining the ingredients and then put the dough in the fridge for 20 min. or so and they came out great. I dusted a few with powdered sugar and some basic vanilla glaze for a few.Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chantel
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
These donuts came out great. They are light and fluffy and just the right sweetness. I did find the dough difficult to deal with. My first couple donuts weren't very pretty. I finally decided to put everything on hold and refrigerate the dough for ten minutes. Then I only used a quarter of the dough at a time and left the rest in the refrigerator. I heavily floured my countertop, the dough and my cutter before gently patting the dough to a thickness of half an inch. I gently removed the cutout dough and blew the excess flour off of it. The dough is extremely moist, which it needs to be for moist donuts. I suspect this recipe was originally made to go in a donut dispenser. I would recommend trying one if you have it. I paired the cooled donuts with Alton Brown's chocolate donut glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Family loved it! I didnt add nutmeg neither did I add cinnamon tho.... Simply sprinkled sugar on them after. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I love cake doughnuts and this recipe is so simple! This was the first time I made doughnuts and this was so easy. I increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon as many had said they needed more this was just right. I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar and my family loved them! A definite must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking is fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great donut! This was the 1st time I have ever made let alone fried a donut - easy to make and using suggestions made by other reviews - I increased the cinnamon to a 1/2 tsp and the nutmeg to a 1/4 tsp - I used the donut holes to make sure oil was at the correct temp for frying and I found 360 degrees was perfect. The dough was extremely sticky so I made sure my counter was well floured and then I turned the dough over and made sure my rolling pin was well floured too. Spot on donut - will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It reminded me of the cake donuts I would get from the mom and pop shops in New England. I could tell from reading the recipe that it didn't have enough spice, I increased the spice to 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. You need to fry them until really brown to get them to cook all the way through and to get that nice crunch. If you don't have a donut cutter, a margarita glass and a shot glass makes a great substitute for a really big donut. Makes six large donuts cutting them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States