Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lena
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I followed instructions to the tee. Fairly easy to make. If you are not putting on a glaze, add just a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RJ Guibord
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made them and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJ Guibord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a 5 star recipe! Oh so awesome. Rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. Followed recipe as it's printed. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I loved this recipe because you can make plain donuts and also add your own special touch. I added sugar after they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These were so easy to make and my kids loved them, we rolled them in powder sugar and in cinnamon and sugar. we had a blast making fun shapes and they were not dense at all. I will make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dragneel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made these as written, with just a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg, and rolled them in cinnamon sugar (also with a bit of nutmeg). Delicious!! Not nearly as heavy as cake donuts you would buy at the grocery store or even the donut shop. Light and fluffy! I will say that 375 degrees may be WAY too hot ... the "test strips" I fried turned black within seconds. However ... there is always the possibility that my new (and first) deep fryer is defective. The oil at 375 was smoking. When the oil cooled a bit, I continued frying and they were perfect. What a treat! I highly recommend testing the oil temperature with the scraps of dough that remain after rolling and cutting. And ... I had NO issues with sticky dough as some have experienced. It was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this recipe only slightly altering the spices for personal preference. The cakes had good flavor, however, I found them too dense. They aren't as light as other cake donuts I have eaten before and prefer. Yes, cake donuts are denser than yeast donuts but shouldn't, in my opinion, be as dense as these are. Ease of making/cooking wasn't bad. Easy enough to do even for youngsters with guidance, especially when using hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I agree. It's a CAKE donut. Not a fry donut. They were wonderful. Definitely needed more flour though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
These were delicious and super easy to make. I added extra nutmeg and kept the cinnamon amount as listed. This recipe made 7 donuts, which was perfect. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So good and so easy! We liked them best coated in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Necastro1122

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States