Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
All I can say is WOW!!! Best tasting sourdough bread recipe I've found online and it turns out perfect everytime! I use the dough cycle on my bread machine and when finished, I dump it on a non stick silicone baking sheet, punch out the air bubbles and form it into 80 gram balls. I slice a cross on the top, brush with water and sprinkle on some sea salt and place in my bread warmer for an hour. Pop them into the oven at 375 for 10 minutes, cool for as long as your tempted to rip 'em open, slather with butter and devour. For a nice brown color after you've baked them for 10 minutes, I open the oven door and broil them them just a little for about 1 minute. Don't walk away, just keep a close eye on it. This is my one indulgence as I don't normally eat carbs. I take my starter out of the fridge, feed it, and wait two- three days before making bread. It gives it that nice sourdough flavor if I wait longer. My sourdough starter is: 1 pkg dry yeast in 1/2 C warm water, 2 C King Arthur unbleached white bread flour, 2 C warm water and 1 TB sugar. I feed once a week with: 1 C hot water, 1/4 c potato flakes, 1/2 C sugar, 1 C white bread flour. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this today after using the Sourdough Starter by Esther Nelson from this website. I was a little nervous because I have heard that sourdough bread can be frustrating and tricky. To top things off, I am at a high altitude (about 6200ft). I dumped everything in my bread machine just as the recipe said and according to my machine's suggestions. This bread was AWESOME! I will be keeping my sourdough starter going and making this bread often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This bread came out almost perfect. It was a little dense and didn't rise as much as I expected. However, it tasted great and was perfect for sandwiches. For the second loaf I tried adding the yeast to the water and letting it set for 10 minutes before adding the other ingredients. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar to the water/yeast mixture. This time I was afraid it was going to rise too high but it turned out to be a perfect loaf of bread. With just a slight tweak this is a perfect sourdough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Makes the best bread. Soft and chewy. My husband loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I was a little anxious about this as I was oven baking it and not using a bread machine. Right after I dumped the yeast in I wondered if I should have proofed it first as I normally do, but it was too late, so I just hoped for the best. And I got it. Fantastic. This recipe is going to Christmas Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
To develop a more sour taste, once the breadmaker has mixed the ingredients well, take the whole pan out of the machine, cover it in plastic wrap or transfer to a container to prevent moisture loss, and stick in the fridge overnight or for two days, then put it back in the breadmaker and restart the baking cycle. It's very important that all ingredients are room temperature before starting the baking process. According to other internet sources, sourdough is supposed to be slightly healthier than white bread due to the acids which make the taste having a stabilizing effect on blood glucose levels. Beware using wheat flour, it has different gluten levels and the yeasts may need more time to break it down. Experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
i made this in my bread machine today. it turned out great. : ) i plan on making another load tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I don't have a bread machine, and it came out great. First rising for 1 hour and second rising for 40 min. Baked @400 for 20min. Very nice and crispy crust but soft on the inside. I did have to add more bread flour but all starters are different. I did add just a pinch of sugar as a catalyst, as I was using a starter that was made from grapes and does not have any processed yeast in the starter(which was also my first time w/this starter). This is like a classic french-no oil which is nice and makes for a nice crusty loaf. thanks, I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I don't have a bread machine, and this recipe still works great with homemade sourdough starter. I usually double it, and use 3 cups or white flour and 2 1/3 cups of whole wheat. After 2 sessions of kneading and letting it rise, it comes out of the oven wonderfully fluffy with a fantastic crispy crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My starter is new and not especially sour yet, but this recipe keeps producing consistently delicious bread. It has a medium density texture and keeps well for at least 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States