Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thank you for sharing this sourdough recipe. I have been using this same recipe for years!! I use the basic bread setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCarrigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
What a perfect loaf of bread!! Big and crusty. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I didn't make it in a bread machine, but I don't think that would affect the review. It was really heavy, our Northern Californian sourdough is a fairly light bread, this wasn't. It was OK, will make good sandwhiches but a little blah for just slice and eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have made this recipe daily for the last 4 weeks and its awesome! Comes out perfect. I started my sourdough starter from a starter culture packet and it must be getting better and better because it comes out chewy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. I make it in the bread machine. I had been making my bread in the overn but it comes out so much better from the bread machine and this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Smelled great cooking. Texture was better than other recipes I've tried. But, rolls looked deathly white, and were like rocks on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
omgosh... this is the best and most simple sourdough roll recipe that I ever made! tysvm Jennifer! Mine, too, was a little bit sticky; but I added about 2 tablespoons of flour and it was perfect (I guess maybe it depends on the altitude and/or humidity level where one lives). I separated the dough into 8 sections, coated my palms with EVOO, and rolled each section into a slightly flattened ball then set them on a non-stick cookie sheet with about 1/2" between each roll. I warmed up my oven (then turned it off) and set them in there with a pastry cloth over them for a little over an hour until they doubled in size; then I preheated my oven to 350 F and baked them for about 15 minutes. Absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrytheterrifyc
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this IS plain and simple. I don't have a bread machine and the rule of thumb I was told for sourdough is 1.5 cups of starter per loaf when not using yeast. To me the beauty of using starter is *not* needing the yeast. Also, with starter/no yeast you get a much slower fermentation and thus a better "sourdough" flavor to the bread. That said, I understand that this recipie is intended for a bread machine which pretty much makes the added yeast necessary. To make it "non machine" oriented I just eliminated the yeast, and used 1.5c starter and 1/4 c. of water to make up the same liquid content. There is only 1 recipie I found here on AR that uses no bread machine and no added yeast like I was looking for. I tried it and didn't like it...so started playing with other ones for the bread machines. I like this one the best with the changes in the starter above. This one has a good bite to it like sourdough should. The others I tried came out too sweet like plain old white bread.*made this a few more times and tweaked it. Knead about 50 times since the bread dough machine "does it for you". Normally bread bakes in about 30 minutes. The last time I didn't hear the timer go off and it baked a lot longer. It came out NICE and crusty that way...family declared it just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was an incredibly easy recipe! I do believe that the quality of your finished product will really depend on the quality of your starter. I mixed it up on the dough cycle then made it into 12 good sized rolls & baked them til golden. Only problem is they are so much better than store bought that my husband wants them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Super easy! Used it with a 50 year old sour dough starter I was recently gifted. The taste and texture were fantastic. I used the bread machine on the dough cycle and the made 16 large rolls to bake in the oven. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I just got my starter ready and wanted to try a great sourdough recipe and found this one! It worked Great! Very pleased with the results. Used my bread machine on setting 1. Loaf was perfect and light. I did use the suggestion of putting the yeast in warm water first, with about a teaspoon of sugar, to help the rise and it worked perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasheast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States