Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These are pretty dense, they'll do for today but I probably won't make these again (I made rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've never made sourdough bread before and was a little intimidated. But this was easy and very good! Have made it twice already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good and mine wasn't a strong sourdourgh flavor, but still good! I love baking homemade fresh bread. Mine set out for about 3 days, but still feeding my starter and hopefully the next baking, the bread will have a stronger flavor. So simple and only uses a handful of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I can't imagine an easier bread! So delicious, we have been making it every other day. I haven't felt the need to even look for another recipe, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I had to add lots of flour to my sour dough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
First time making sourdough bread, and it couldn't have been easier! I don't have a bread machine so I followed earlier advice: proof the yeast in 1/4 cup water, knead dough for 10 minutes on floured service, let rise in warm oven (I forgot about it and left it in the oven for 45 minutes), punch down, shape loaf, let rise for 20-30 minutes. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Amazing sourdough bread! My sourdough starter smells awesome though, so that certainly helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was my first time making sourdough bread and it came out pretty good. My starter is made of just flour and water (one cup of each at room temp, wait 24 hours, dump out half then add 1/2 cup each flour and water, repeat every 24 hours stirring frequently until froth/foam forms). I was very happy with how well this rose and how easy the dough was to work with. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine. When it was done, I kneaded it a few times, then shaped in an oval loaf. I covered and let rise in a warm place for about 40 minutes, then baked it at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes so it was nice and crusty. The bread did dry out pretty fast the next day, but it makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I like this bread this is my second time making it. The crust is hard and the inside is soft and spongey. I dont recomend dividing it into 12 rolls the outside is too hard for that plus the rolls are pretty small. It doesnt make that much dough when you take it out of the machine and divide it. Then it doubles as it rises but they are still tiny rolls nothing you could make a sandwich on. Overall I like the flavor and the texture its a good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My first sourdough- and this was fantastic! I did have to use more flour than the recipe called for. It turned out light, and soft, rose beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States