Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I haven't made pizzelles for many years so I looked for the perfect recipe. I read all the ones on this site as well as others on the Internet. I selected this one and really laughed when I discovered the one in my old Pizzelle Master machine box is the same. It is perfect. The batter is thick but I found no need to thin it. I used a heaping teaspoonful and placed it slightly off-center closer to the back hinges to get them to be completely round without excess batter spreading outside the mold. We all enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I followed this recipe exact and my first two rounds of pizzelles came out very thick and didn't crisp up. I thinned out the batter a bit with some milk and they progressively got better, but I think this batter is way too thick. The flavor is great and tastes just like my grandmas, but I think I will substitute oil for the butter and use a little less flour and baking powder on my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I love this recipe!!! The pizzelles turned out perfect. The anise gives it the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This review comes along with a little story. I was introduced to Pizzelles by one my dearest friends. As the daughter of Italian immigrants, she knows all about this delicate, and delicious treat. According to her, this recipe is the real deal! "These taste just like my godmother's...God rest her soul". I guess that pretty much says it all. If my "adopted" Italian grandma gives this recipe 5 stars, then you can best believe thst it's worth the time and effort !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
When I made the chocolate version, I used a Ghirardelli's Chocolate Hazelnut Cocoa. Every Pizzelle turned out perfect. The hazelnut flavor was subtle and an excellant accent. I also made a regular batch using anise flavoring instead of vanilla but the batter was difficult to work with (I discarded it and made a second batch thinking I had done something wrong - but the second batch was the same). The pizzelles were so popular at work - and the hazelnut cocoa pizzelles went quickly. I am giving this recipe 5 stars for the optional chocolate recipe. I have been asked to bring it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very good and EASY! We made both the regular and the chocolate - the chocolate are our favorite! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWYNNWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I love making pizzelles at Cristmastime. They are so quick and easy to whip up and bake. And this is one of the best recipes I have found. I'm not fond of anise so I enjoy experimenting with different flavor variations. I doubled the recipe and along with the 2 tbsp. of vanilla, I also added 1 tbsp. of almond extract (one of my favorite flavors). I've also tried orange extract and added orange zest to the batter - DELICIOUS! I personally like to bake them longer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this 3X in one day. It is a very different batter as previously said, but nevertheless, it makes a crisp tasty pizzelle, sweeter when using the butter. I did try one batch with oil, as I'm used to, but it stuck to my machine and I was not happy with that, nor with the taste. Butter is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I tried this recipe a few days ago, and I thought they were very good. However, they browned unevenly and had an off taste because of it. I read somewhere that oil browns better than butter, so the next time I make these I will substitute the butter with oil. The texture was a little funny, it wasn't like the texture of pizzelles I've had before. I also thought these pizzelles came out very sweet. This could have been due to the fact that I really like the taste of anise and wanted that to be the strongest flavor, not the sweetness of the sugar. I will try this recipe again, reducing the amount of sugar and exchanging the butter with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! It's easy to make and it works in my maker! I have used other recipes that just stick amd make a mess. I used cinnamon in this recipe too and my family loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States