Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Unfortunately, I've made many pizzelles in my day and this recipe was a bummer. My iron was the ideal temp and I followed the instructions, but then I had to tweak the proportions on everything until it was right. Basically, too much baking powder, 1 egg too many, not enough butter... There are some much better recipes to try. Sorry, but I gots to be honest y'all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
nice flavor easy to work with the dough one of the tricks it to use a good high quality vanilla extract not the fake stuff that comes in the little plastic bot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is the VERY BEST recipe I've found for Pizzelles! The pizzelles turned out perfectly - crisp and delicious! I did adjust the recipe just a bit to suit my family's taste. I added 1/4 teaspoon of Almond Extract (in addition to the 1 TBSP of Vanilla Extract that is in the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We've always had these in our family at Christmas but only the anise flavored ones. I usually use my Gran's recipe but my husband wanted the chocolate ones so I found this recipe. I used it for the anise ones, too, and they are perfect! The only thing I do different is still use the vanilla even when making the anise ones. It seems to lift the flavor of the entire cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed the recipie exactly and these came out perfectly. Nice and crispy and not too sweet. I used my Italian mother's ANCIENT pizzelle iron to make them...so many good memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Just made these for the first time ever. Very easy recipe and they are delicious. I used 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tsp anise extract. Very good. Next time I'll use all anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I just made this recipe and it turned out pretty good. I did have to add another 1+T of vanilla though to make it taste like vanilla. Otherwise they tasted like nothing. I really am not sure how much vanilla I ended up putting in them. I made it with 1T and mae a few pizzelles and added another T and that still didn't seem quite enough, so, I only had a little left in my bottle so I just poured it in. I still think it could've used just a bit more. I usually make anise flavor, but am completely out. :( They are not very crisp though, maybe cause of the extra vanilla??? I don't know. They were crisp when I made them and now 2 hours later, they are sort of crispy. Maybe I needed to cook them longer. I'll have to keep playing with the recipe another time. Next time I will do anise and see how they turn out. Better than the last recipe I tried though and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Awesome recipe! I've officially retired my grandmother's recipe for this one - they are THAT good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe worked perfectly in my new Cuisinart Pizzelle Press. The only thing I did different was to add an extra tablespoon of vanilla as mentioned by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
these cookies were awesome!!! they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megaroo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States