Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I grew up with Pizzelles at Christmas Time however the recipe that was passed down to me you had to guess at the flour that was needed. This recipe made it very simple. I rated this recipe 5 stars because this recipe was just like my Mothers. Thank You & Merry Christmas......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
easy, husband claims too eggy tasting. He grew up with them, new to me. added some neon purple food coloring....pretty cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Unfortunately, I've made many pizzelles in my day and this recipe was a bummer. My iron was the ideal temp and I followed the instructions, but then I had to tweak the proportions on everything until it was right. Basically, too much baking powder, 1 egg too many, not enough butter... There are some much better recipes to try. Sorry, but I gots to be honest y'all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
nice flavor easy to work with the dough one of the tricks it to use a good high quality vanilla extract not the fake stuff that comes in the little plastic bot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is the VERY BEST recipe I've found for Pizzelles! The pizzelles turned out perfectly - crisp and delicious! I did adjust the recipe just a bit to suit my family's taste. I added 1/4 teaspoon of Almond Extract (in addition to the 1 TBSP of Vanilla Extract that is in the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We've always had these in our family at Christmas but only the anise flavored ones. I usually use my Gran's recipe but my husband wanted the chocolate ones so I found this recipe. I used it for the anise ones, too, and they are perfect! The only thing I do different is still use the vanilla even when making the anise ones. It seems to lift the flavor of the entire cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed the recipie exactly and these came out perfectly. Nice and crispy and not too sweet. I used my Italian mother's ANCIENT pizzelle iron to make them...so many good memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Just made these for the first time ever. Very easy recipe and they are delicious. I used 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tsp anise extract. Very good. Next time I'll use all anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I just made this recipe and it turned out pretty good. I did have to add another 1+T of vanilla though to make it taste like vanilla. Otherwise they tasted like nothing. I really am not sure how much vanilla I ended up putting in them. I made it with 1T and mae a few pizzelles and added another T and that still didn't seem quite enough, so, I only had a little left in my bottle so I just poured it in. I still think it could've used just a bit more. I usually make anise flavor, but am completely out. :( They are not very crisp though, maybe cause of the extra vanilla??? I don't know. They were crisp when I made them and now 2 hours later, they are sort of crispy. Maybe I needed to cook them longer. I'll have to keep playing with the recipe another time. Next time I will do anise and see how they turn out. Better than the last recipe I tried though and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Awesome recipe! I've officially retired my grandmother's recipe for this one - they are THAT good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States