Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
A group of us were giving a bridal shower at school and decided on a sundae bar. I used my pizzelle maker to create 4 delicious flavors of ice cream bowls, made like waffle cones bowls, creating 105 bowls. This review is for the ‘Italian Pizzelles’ – chocolate flavored. The batter for this held up very well when making the bowls. It was a thicker batter and held the ice cream best. I got 29 cookies from this recipe and it took 40 seconds per batch. The other recipes were: ‘Pizzelles II’ ‘Pizzelles III’ and a personal recipe from ‘What’s for dinner, mom?.’
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Brought back a lot of childhood memories. These pizzelles are perfect, just the way the recipe is written. My family is Italian and we used anise, but I prefer vanilla. My aunt used to layer Nutella between two pizzelle and that is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made Pizzelles for the first time today using this recipe. My batter was thick (may have sat too long) and the first cookies out were pretty thick. I thinned the batter with milk & cream and added cardamon. The resulting pizzelles are much to our liking, reminding us of Krumkake. Next time I will use the suggestion to put the batter in a pastry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My family thought these cookies were great! I had never made them before, but bought an electric pizzelle iron at a thrift store and needed an easy recipe. This was it! They were delicious. The $4.50 I spent on the hardly used iron was so worth it! I also added some anise flavoring to some of the batter and that was great too! Now I want to try a little orange flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I added to it a bit wine, cinnamon & almonds syrup and it cam great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Same recipe I use every year. The only change I make is to whip the egg and sugar until very frothy. This seems to make the cookies very light. Just remember to not beat the batter too much if you want light and delicate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I grew up with Pizzelles at Christmas Time however the recipe that was passed down to me you had to guess at the flour that was needed. This recipe made it very simple. I rated this recipe 5 stars because this recipe was just like my Mothers. Thank You & Merry Christmas......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
easy, husband claims too eggy tasting. He grew up with them, new to me. added some neon purple food coloring....pretty cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Unfortunately, I've made many pizzelles in my day and this recipe was a bummer. My iron was the ideal temp and I followed the instructions, but then I had to tweak the proportions on everything until it was right. Basically, too much baking powder, 1 egg too many, not enough butter... There are some much better recipes to try. Sorry, but I gots to be honest y'all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States