Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Just finished making these pizzelles and they turned out pretty good! I added an extra tablespoon of vanilla, and it could of benefited from even one more. Putting oil on my press gave it a bad taste. Maybe it's because mine is newer, but its doesn't need to be oiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is great. Actually, it is identical to many pizzele recipes out there. There are a couple details that are missing from it though...C hill the "batter" for a few hours before cooking it. This makes it way easier to scoop out the perfect amount with a spoon. Making pizzele can sometimes seem daunting especially around the holidays when you are baking a million other cookies. In the past I have made this dough a few days ahead, so it is sitting in the fridge ready for me whenever i have some free time to cook them! The recipe is not super sweet because it is traditional to dust them with powdered sugar after they have cooled. This obviously make them sweeter, but also enhances whatever flavoring your have added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I. Love. This. Recipe! It was perfect and super easy to make. My son has an egg allergy so I will be trying it with egg replacer the next time I make it and non dairy margarine. I added orange peel and anise seeds for a light added flavor and it was a win in my house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I had no problems. Took me back a lot of years to when my grandmother and mother made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Meh. Not a lot of flavor or sweetness. I added another 1/2 c of sugar and 1T vanilla; still not great. Maybe this is my prejudice--I prefer pizzelles with anise oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delicious. I used a spoon and it worked fine. I made the vanilla ones, then halfway thru added the cocoa powder, some chocolate chips I chopped finely into bits, and a pinch more baking powder. They were yummy! Tough to stop eating I have to say. These will be impressive at a function, I will make them again for people with confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I received a Pizzelle iron for Christmas. I owned a bakery and experimented with a variety of nontraditional flavorings and have been threatened to be disavowed due to my departure from traditional Anise and Almond. Since I have found other cookie irons identical to Pizzelle irons claiming to be German and Swedish I just tell my in-laws I am following my northern European ancestry. I encourage all of you to experiment. These are some of the different flavors I have developed with very good results. Sorry -I don't write down my measurements on these flavor additives. When using Cocoa powder I always add more white sugar. Anise - both Anise extract and Anise seed. Almond - Almond extract and or Amaretto. Orange Rum - Orange rind and rum extract or orange emulsion also Bourbon or Brandy Extract. Lemon - Lemon rind and lemon extract or lemon emulsion. Gingerbread - molasses, ginger, cinnamon, clove and nutmeg. Mocha - Cocoa powder and coffee extract or espresso grind. Chocolate Black Walnut - Cocoa powder and black walnut ground fine or Black Walnut Extract. Pistachio - Pistachio ground fine in food processor or coffee grinder and or Pistachio extract. Hazelnut - Hazelnut ground fine and Hazelnut extract or Frangelico. Nutello - Cocoa powder, Hazelnut ground fine and hazelnut extract. Coconut - Coconut ground fine and or Coconut extract. Chocolate Coconut - Cocoa Powder, ground fine coconut or coconut extract. Hope I have inspired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made these today - a 1/2 batch of plain & a 1/2 batch of chocolate. The chocolate batter was a good bit thicker to work with than the plain, but both resulted in a nice Pizzelle. I realized that to be Pizzelle successful, you have to find a technique that jives with your iron (some get hotter than others, some have deeper wells, the weight of the top (lid) varies among different models, etc.) and how you like your finished cookie (thin, thick, crispy, soft.) Also, how much batter you use per cookie depends on the consitency of the batter, the depth of the wells & the heaviness of your lid. Here's what I do to get a relatively thick, but crispy cookie. I drop my batter onto the iron, slightly spread it around & wait a few seconds before closing the iron, giving it a little time to cook. Then I sllllowly lower the lid, applying a little more pressure as the cookie is cooking. I've found that by doing this, you'll have a thicker cookie however, the cooking time will be slightly extended in order to fully cook the cookie. Removing them the iron too soon will result in a soft cookie, which isn't my thing when it comes to Pizzelles - I want crisp. Finally, I like to experiment with different flavored extracts (orange, banana, coconut, lemon, almond, obviously Anise) as well mixing/swirling the batters on the iron (for example, chocolate & banana or almond & orange) and lightly tinting the batter to match the flavor (orange for orange, yellow for lemon, etc.) Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The best pizzelles I ever tasted. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Palumbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
it is a excellent recipe....i have been using this recipe for over 30 years. It depends on the pizelle maker also. I have 3 pizelle makers and always use this recipe. I never need to oil the maker. I mostly use vanilla. Tried choc chips once and they melted on the iron. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States