Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Ever since misplacing my original Pizzelle recipe, I've been on the lookout for a suitable substitute. While this one is a bit different, it's been requested as a 'cookie jar staple' by my husband ever since first tasting them at Christmastime. A few tips I've stumbled upon while making these: The recipe doubles easily (triple it and the batter gets stiffer as it sits). Fill a large pastry bag (or even a large zip-top baggie) with batter to squeeze desired amount onto iron (eliminates the sticky spoon-fingers situation). The vanilla is interchangeable with other extracts; I've tried almond, black walnut, lemon, orange and rum. Also, additions of nuts can be sprinkled on the raw batter just prior to baking; I've used sliced almonds with almond extract, pecans with rum extract and walnuts with black walnut extract. And yesterday I added a few mini chocolate chips to an orange-flavored batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Good Recipe, exactly the same as the one that comes with the cuisinart Pizelle maker. I found using 4 Eggs versus 3 makes a better dough, not as thick, leading to more uniform cookie sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I have used this recipe many, many times. When my son got married on July 8, 2006, he asked me if I would make a variety of pizzelles for the reception. I decided to experiment with this recipe and made dozens upon dozen of pizzelles in the following flavors: anise, vanilla, orange, and chocolate chocolate chip. For the anise and vanilla flavors I followed the recipe exactly. For the orange pizzelles, I used orange flavoring instead of the anise/vanilla and also added some orange zest. For the chocolate chocolate chip, I followed the recipe for the chocolate pizzelles and added mini chocolate chips. (I had to add more flour to this batter to get it to cook properly.) All of the pizzelles were a HUGE hit at the reception and now I have people begging me to make pizzelles for them. Thanks for the great recipe, Marianne. I can't wait to experiment with even more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
This was a delicious recipe. I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt and used the vanilla. After I took the pizzelles off the griddle, I imediately shaped them into aa cup using the base of a glass as a mold. This must be done as soon as they are removed when they are still soft. I then filled them with strawberries and cream just before serving. They were an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is the best pizzelle recipe I've come across! At first I was a little worried, as the batter seemed quite thick. But they came out just perfect! I even added an extra tablespoon of vanilla. They are a big hit everywhere I take them. *Be sure to keep them in an airtight container so they stay crisp! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I always make pizzelles at Christmas and was in the mood to try a different recipe. These were amazing. I make different flavors, so, instead of the vanilla, used lemon in a batch, lemon lime in another, anise in another and orange in yet another. These are so easy and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
this recipe was a flop...I spent over one hour attempting to create 1 pizzelle. The flavor/taste was great as a ball of fried dough. But, I couldn't form 1 until I added Milk to the recipe. I was very frustrated. At that point i realized that i could get them to turn out and i added additional milk...I then experienced little problems. But, gee the frustration until that point. Had this ingredient accidentally been omitted?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
These were really good! I haven't really had pizzelles before, but I was given a pizzelle iron recently so I thought I'd make some. We formed the cookies over an upside down bowl while they were really hot and then used them for ice cream bowls/cones. Everyone really liked them. I'm trying the chocolate version tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I tried this recipe a few days ago, and I thought they were very good. However, they browned unevenly and had an off taste because of it. I read somewhere that oil browns better than butter, so the next time I make these I will substitute the butter with oil. The texture was a little funny, it wasn't like the texture of pizzelles I've had before. I also thought these pizzelles came out very sweet. This could have been due to the fact that I really like the taste of anise and wanted that to be the strongest flavor, not the sweetness of the sugar. I will try this recipe again, reducing the amount of sugar and exchanging the butter with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I received a Pizzelle iron for Christmas. I owned a bakery and experimented with a variety of nontraditional flavorings and have been threatened to be disavowed due to my departure from traditional Anise and Almond. Since I have found other cookie irons identical to Pizzelle irons claiming to be German and Swedish I just tell my in-laws I am following my northern European ancestry. I encourage all of you to experiment. These are some of the different flavors I have developed with very good results. Sorry -I don't write down my measurements on these flavor additives. When using Cocoa powder I always add more white sugar. Anise - both Anise extract and Anise seed. Almond - Almond extract and or Amaretto. Orange Rum - Orange rind and rum extract or orange emulsion also Bourbon or Brandy Extract. Lemon - Lemon rind and lemon extract or lemon emulsion. Gingerbread - molasses, ginger, cinnamon, clove and nutmeg. Mocha - Cocoa powder and coffee extract or espresso grind. Chocolate Black Walnut - Cocoa powder and black walnut ground fine or Black Walnut Extract. Pistachio - Pistachio ground fine in food processor or coffee grinder and or Pistachio extract. Hazelnut - Hazelnut ground fine and Hazelnut extract or Frangelico. Nutello - Cocoa powder, Hazelnut ground fine and hazelnut extract. Coconut - Coconut ground fine and or Coconut extract. Chocolate Coconut - Cocoa Powder, ground fine coconut or coconut extract. Hope I have inspired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States