Pizzelles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very good and EASY! We made both the regular and the chocolate - the chocolate are our favorite! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWYNNWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I love making pizzelles at Cristmastime. They are so quick and easy to whip up and bake. And this is one of the best recipes I have found. I'm not fond of anise so I enjoy experimenting with different flavor variations. I doubled the recipe and along with the 2 tbsp. of vanilla, I also added 1 tbsp. of almond extract (one of my favorite flavors). I've also tried orange extract and added orange zest to the batter - DELICIOUS! I personally like to bake them longer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this 3X in one day. It is a very different batter as previously said, but nevertheless, it makes a crisp tasty pizzelle, sweeter when using the butter. I did try one batch with oil, as I'm used to, but it stuck to my machine and I was not happy with that, nor with the taste. Butter is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I tried this recipe a few days ago, and I thought they were very good. However, they browned unevenly and had an off taste because of it. I read somewhere that oil browns better than butter, so the next time I make these I will substitute the butter with oil. The texture was a little funny, it wasn't like the texture of pizzelles I've had before. I also thought these pizzelles came out very sweet. This could have been due to the fact that I really like the taste of anise and wanted that to be the strongest flavor, not the sweetness of the sugar. I will try this recipe again, reducing the amount of sugar and exchanging the butter with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! It's easy to make and it works in my maker! I have used other recipes that just stick amd make a mess. I used cinnamon in this recipe too and my family loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
They came out great! Will make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I have used this recipe many, many times. When my son got married on July 8, 2006, he asked me if I would make a variety of pizzelles for the reception. I decided to experiment with this recipe and made dozens upon dozen of pizzelles in the following flavors: anise, vanilla, orange, and chocolate chocolate chip. For the anise and vanilla flavors I followed the recipe exactly. For the orange pizzelles, I used orange flavoring instead of the anise/vanilla and also added some orange zest. For the chocolate chocolate chip, I followed the recipe for the chocolate pizzelles and added mini chocolate chips. (I had to add more flour to this batter to get it to cook properly.) All of the pizzelles were a HUGE hit at the reception and now I have people begging me to make pizzelles for them. Thanks for the great recipe, Marianne. I can't wait to experiment with even more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I wanted to make some pizzelles, but I could not find the "family" recipe. These pizzelles came out excellent.....no-one knew the difference!! I made some with vanilla and some with almond flavoring. Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Ever since misplacing my original Pizzelle recipe, I've been on the lookout for a suitable substitute. While this one is a bit different, it's been requested as a 'cookie jar staple' by my husband ever since first tasting them at Christmastime. A few tips I've stumbled upon while making these: The recipe doubles easily (triple it and the batter gets stiffer as it sits). Fill a large pastry bag (or even a large zip-top baggie) with batter to squeeze desired amount onto iron (eliminates the sticky spoon-fingers situation). The vanilla is interchangeable with other extracts; I've tried almond, black walnut, lemon, orange and rum. Also, additions of nuts can be sprinkled on the raw batter just prior to baking; I've used sliced almonds with almond extract, pecans with rum extract and walnuts with black walnut extract. And yesterday I added a few mini chocolate chips to an orange-flavored batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was my first time making Pizzelles, I made the chocolate and it was easy and fast and everyone thought they were good. I did add a little more vanilla. Added this recipe to one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States